Help us with our vegan and vegetarian, recycling café in the center of Istanbul, Turkey

  • Favourited 1083 times
  • Last activity: 28 mai. 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    *** THE CALENDAR IS ALWAYS UPDATED PLEASE CHECK IT ***

    Hi, my name is Özge. My team and I are running a vegetarian and vegan recycling café. I was born, grew up, and now live in Beyoğlu, İstanbul. Even though we opened our café during the pandemic I used to have a bakery at Arnavutköy (near the Bosphorus). We believe to be inclusive for everyone. We always have been a team of women and queers. We prepare everything ourselves; we mainly use local and seasonal ingredients, if it is imported we are trying to find fair trade ones. We work with women producers and cooperatives. We organize events and exhibitions from time to time.

    The job needs learning time, so we kindly ask you to stay at least two weeks.

    ---Our priority is to consider people who possess prior experience in the restaurant or cafe industry.---

    We are a pet and free animals friendly café, which means they are always around with us.

    IMPORTANT: We have zero tolerance for discrimination, racism, homophobia, and transphobia.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Manutenção geral
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a wide range of consumers and we really would like to listen to them. This is a very nice opportunity to meet every type of person all around the world. We hope to be one of the game changers, at least for the country. We are located in Beyoglu which means we are surrounded by pubs, restaurants, museums, movie theatres, stores, tourist attractions, and great nightlife.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Primarily you will help with the service and from time to time we may ask for help with the cleaning, dishwashing, plant watering, and feeding of the animals. You are responsible for the cleaning of your room. If you like cooking, you are welcome to help in our kitchen with basics and our family meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private room with a garden view for one person or a couple. The bathroom is private, it is next door to your room, in our storage area (Keep in mind that taking a shower is not so comfortable, because the bathroom area is really small). There is a mini kitchen you can use and a fridge (We always can provide some equipment for our kitchen). Every day we cook a family meal at 16.30 (mostly vegan, rarely vegetarian), we will The building has a common terrace with an incredible İstanbul view.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our café is in the middle of the city. There are two parts of the old town: The Ottoman Palace plus Muslim locals and non-muslim merchants share opposite sides of the sea (Haliç). Galata is a well-known area for trading in which we are located. Galata Tower is 200mt away from our café. This area is basically a safe place for everyone. I, personally, know very well the area and the city, so you won't be lost here. Almost everywhere you would like to see is within walking distance or very close to transportation for further neighborhoods.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    The place is a bit small, but they are always welcome if you are traveling with your pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6.5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 198364391914

Feedback (8)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Come and help my son practice English or/and French in İzmir, Turkey
Looking for people who can help us in our family hotel in Fethiye, Turkey