atualizado  

Help with a dog rescue project in Songkhla, Thailand

  • Favorito 2093 vezes
  • Última atividade: 19 fev. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    ===============
    HELP NEEDED DURING FEBRUARY and MARCH
    ===============

    My name is Tamara. I am an Australian teacher living in Songkhla, Thailand. Our rescue, was established in 2012. Our passion and mission is to vaccinate, sterilize, medicate, feed, adopt and love as many street dogs as possible. I have 15 dogs in my home and 145 dogs at our sanctuary. Once the dogs are healed and healthy, we strive to find forever families for them. We also care for around 180 dogs on the streets, providing food and medical treatments.

    Over 10 years ago, I made the big decision that my heart had been telling me to do for years. I sold or gave away most of my belongings, rented my house out, took leave from my teaching job and moved back to Thailand.

    I know we can't save every dog, but for every dog we save, that is one dog that is better off. One dog at a time.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Volunteers will enjoy the small town culture, non touristy feel of Songkhla. Songkhla is a town surrounded by beaches and a lake. There are plenty of markets and food places to explore.

    Please respect the culture and dress appropriately.

    Volunteers will be exposed to the challenges and rewards that come along with rescuing animals.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Commitment, communication and common sense are essential

    * Please arrive before 4pm *

    This is a dog rescue, not a doggy day care. Hugging and loving the dogs is part of it, but please read everything carefully!!
    You must love dogs. This is their house.
    If you are scared of dogs, this is not the place for you.
    You need to be flexible as urgent situations arise daily.
    Help 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.
    Your first and last days will be counted as days off.
    The hours a day might be over split shifts, not a block. Depends on the number of volunteers. I
    Be prepared for ticks, mosquitoes and getting dirty.
    Thailand is hot.
    Have initiative, common sense and work without supervision are necessary.
    Be open minded and willing to take on new challenges.
    Willing to learn, listen and respect our rules.
    Learn about new cultures and experiences.
    Ideal for people with work ethic and looking for a career break / change NOT people dealing with personal issues!
    It is important that you stay for the time we agreed upon. Otherwise it leaves us in a difficult position and it is the dogs that are let down.
    This is not a place for a holiday, but working with the dogs. You will work hard, but it is very rewarding. If you are looking for a free place to stay, this is not it.
    If you want to party every night, this is not the place for you!
    Food is not provided.
    This is Thailand. Electricity and water can often go out for hours or days on end. This is beyond our control!
    You are free to explore in your free time of course.
    The sanctuary is located about 20 minutes away from Songkhla town.

    Some of the jobs you can help with:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ prepare food for dogs
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ help with feeding
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ grooming, bathing, playing and hanging out with dogs
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ training dogs with leads
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ assisting with vaccinations and administering medications when needed
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ taking photos and videos of dogs for website
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ cleaning and general chores
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ deticking
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ help with vet visits
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ keep the garden tidy
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ clean up pee and poo
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ general maintenance

    **** Please read this very, very carefully.
    This is not a western country, it is Thailand and facilities, services and accommodation are very basic.
    We are not like a rescue centre in the west. We do our very best that we can for each and every dog.
    Please don't come here with the mindset that things are perfect, they aren't.
    We have limited space, too many dogs and not enough funding.

    If you come here with an open mind and really love dogs, you will love this experience and find it rewarding

    Please respect the rules and routines that we have in place, they are there for a reason. You may disagree with some of my decisions, but please remember you are here to help, not change current practices. All the dogs in my care are in much better places now, than where they previously were. You will likely be here for a short period of time and maybe feel like you aren't really contributing to the dogs, but believe me, you will be in some way.

    Please understand that I am doing the very best that I can with what I have. It isn't perfect, but then nothing in this world is. I can assure you these dogs are much better off where they are now, rather than on the streets being abused, killed or even eaten. You can make a difference to their lives, if you just jump in and focus on the dogs, rather than criticising what we don't have or do.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Thai: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Sanctuary
    Basic shared room with mattress, sheets, pillow and fan. Shared bathroom with cold water shower.

    Please keep your room, bathroom and kitchen area tidy. Electricity is very expensive in Thailand, so please ensure fans and lights are switched off when not in use.

    We run purely on donations. Please conserve electricity and water in order to keep the bills down. Thank you.

    There is a basic kitchen with a rice cooker, cooker, fridge and kettle.

    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ Due to logistics and since we are a charity, relying entirely on donations we can't afford to provide meals. Instead we offer free rice, fresh fruit and basic cooking condiments *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️

    We do not have WIFI, but there are cafes close by that do.

    I will only reply to messages that have "I love dogs" in the subject box.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Songkhla is a beautiful and charming city by the beach. There are many great shops, restaurants and coffee shops just walking distance from my home and the foster home.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Max 25 hours a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 189787367666

Comentário (54)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicação: (4.6)































































Our students need some help to get a good start in their life in Samoeng District, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Teach homeschooled kids language, music, robotics, science/math, STE(A)M at our home in Chiang Mai, Thailand