Help our family around our home and garden while having an inspiring exchange with us in Spokane Valley, USA

  • Favorito 22 vezes
  • Última atividade: 15 mar. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    Hello, I am Sally Jane! I live with my 18-year-old son, a dog (black and tan coonhound) and a cat. My educational background is environmental planning and policy, and we are outdoor enthusiasts. I believe that nature is our highest teacher. I live in Spokane Valley, WA - the city slogan is "Near Nature - Near Perfect". From ANYWHERE in the city, you are 15 minutes or less from an awesome natural area and there are 76 lakes within an hour's drive. We love to go snowshoeing, hiking, backpacking, camping, mountain biking, cross county biking, swimming & paddleboarding. I am very interested in holistic wellness, ayurveda, & tarot.

    In addition to hosting Workawayers, I make my home available to friends who are coming through town. Whether or not there are other guests at the time of your stay, we will make arrangements with local friends and family so that you'll have an opportunity to connect with more than just the two of us during your time.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live in an area that is SO rich with natural resources. Although we are in Washington State, our outdoor recreation spaces are not as crowded as the more globally recognizable Seattle, Washington area. I can share knowledge about local plant and animal life. If you would like to learn about caring for chickens or a garden, I'd be happy to teach you. We live very near my parents and extended family and I would love to include you in family events with all of us. My son and I recently travelled to Ireland, it was our first trip outside of North America and the best part was meeting other people from around the world. That is how we learned about Workaway. Our main objectives are to gain a deeper understanding of ourselves and others through cultural exchange, and also add value to your life in the same way.

  • Ajuda


    My biggest need for help is with yard work & the garden. There are so many trees, and between work and adventuring I struggle to keep up. Depending on your unique skill set, I could really benefit from a number of different contributions. Want to stay for a couple weeks and paint the outside of my house (it's just one story)? Assist with minor home improvements (like hanging doors, replacing knobs, upgrading light fixtures)? Help maintain and convert my garden space into edible and medicinal perennials? Help care for chickens, cats, dogs? Help with household chores, deep cleaning/organization projects. Paint a mural on the shed in the backyard? I LOVE to cook, but I could be convinced to share the kitchen and would be delighted to enjoy some thoughtfully prepared meals. Or, can you teach us to play the guitar? We have an acoustic and an electric.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    Private Bedroom & a bathroom shared with other housemates in a very modest but clean and comfortable suburban home. Dresser for clothing, and a simple chair in addition to a very gently used queen sized bed, or a well loved twin with a new foam pad and a lamp. Our neighborhood is quiet (but the dog isn't always - he is a Coon Hound and his bark is very loud) and we are friendly with our neighbors. We like to have a fire in the backyard on evenings when it is safe to burn. Public transportation is available 5 blocks away. Breakfast and lunch would be self-serve, family style dinners where we all sit down together would be enjoyed 5x/week. I am accustomed to cooking but happy to share the kitchen if you'd like. Some flexibility in timing of meals depending on everyone's schedules. We prioritize organic foods and eating locally. We are not vegetarian/vegan but I would be willing to conform to any dietary restrictions during your stay for our shared meals, and it would be easy as we often eat meals that do conform to those diets.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are just a few blocks from public transportation, so you can explore the city during off-times. Many art galleries, indie movie theater, great food. Happy to provide recommendations based on your interests, just reach out!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I work from home two days a week and have high speed wifi connection. There is a lot of space and some extra furniture in the home, you could use a desk set up in a communal space, or potentially, set up a desk in your room.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is room in the driveway for a camper van or a smaller motor home/trailer.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 182256747211

Comentário (2)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Help our family to create a sustainable lifestyle in the Blueridge Mountains, Catawba, Virginia, USA
Creating a magical space in New Orleans, USA