A self-sufficient farmstead in western Asturias, Spain

  • Espanha
  • Favorito 404 vezes
  • Última atividade: 29 mar. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas



  • Descrição


    We are slowly turning our land into a self-sufficient homestead. This place used to be a small hamlet with centuries-old stone buildings that were left abandoned for many decades.
    In 2021 we began restoring the first house as well as the rest of the surrounding property. Enclosed by mountains, wild forests and untamed nature, the work never stops. The journey to self-sufficiency is a long one, and in between, there is an endless list of exciting projects to tackle :)
    We rely heavily on ourselves to provide daily necessities therefore it is not always easy. Oftentimes we are a few hands short, so if you are ready to work hard, we are happy to accept your help.

    Ranging from daily meal cooking indoors to physically demanding labor outdoors, surely we have something for anyone as long as they're willing and ready to work.

    The usual stay would normally be around 2 weeks.
    However, we are also very interested in meeting and helping people who want to pursue this lifestyle themselves and would like to move and start their own place in the area. In such cases, we would be open to longer stays

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    North-west Iberia is a beautiful, green paradise that is also rich in history and culture.
    Natural beauty and attractions are plenty just about anywhere here. Whether it is trails and walks, rivers, beaches, small quaint towns or historical monuments, there's always something to see.
    Very little English is spoken in the area, so if you want to learn Spanish, this is a very good place to do so.
    In addition to that, there's many valuable things to learn from a lifestyle that's close to nature, such as where our food comes from, what it takes to obtain and procure all (or many) of the things we use on our daily lives, the hardship of work(ing the land), the fragility of the intricate supply chains we rely on, and the overall unsustainability of high density city-living through mass global trade.
    We are always open to having deep and interesting conversations on many topics...

  • Ajuda


    Common tasks we can always use help with:
    -- Routine care of the animals (chickens, ducks, goats, cows, sheep, dogs)
    -- Felling trees / chopping & stacking firewood
    -- Vegetable garden sowing, composting, harvesting and maintenance
    -- Making wood fences / laying stone walls
    -- Food processing, fermenting, preserving and canning
    -- Planting trees
    -- Cooking lovely meals
    -- Clearing bush & weeds from paths / forest cleaning
    -- Tree pruning
    -- Making fencepoles & gathering rods for wattle fences
    -- Teaching & training dogs
    -- Cleaning the forests of plastics and garbage

    Specific projects we are busy with at the moment:
    -- Creating an aqueduct to channel creek water through a hydro turbine to generate off-grid power (+ someone with knowledge about electronics would be great help for this project)
    -- Setting up areas for syntropic agroforestry and future edible forests
    -- Restoring the facade of an old stone house
    -- Making a loft area in the second floor
    -- Digging foundation of a semi-underground greenhouse
    -- Designing and building a closed loop aquaponics system
    -- Designing and building livestock barns raised on stilts with integrated self-composting
    -- Mining bedrock to flatten the ground in an old pigsty and laying a concrete slab

  • Idiomas

    Catalan: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    You can stay in a tent or you can stay in your own room in the main house with us.
    Shared kitchen, bathroom and everything else.
    There's an internet connection, hot water, all basic services.
    Food is provided for, and we eat meals together. We are adaptable, though we usually have 2-3 meals a day. We don't mind cooking but love to take a break from it as well as try other people's dishes and cuisine. We see food as a gift, and we are thankful for every meal.

    We prefer people who do not smoke.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In addition to looking for volunteer help, we are also very interested in meeting and helping people who want to pursue this lifestyle themselves and would like to move and start their own place in the area.
    Bit by bit, we are growing in numbers and part of the greater vision here is to create one big neighborhood of friends and families, by encouraging likeminded people who want to live a freedom-oriented lifestyle through self reliance and collaboration.
    There are hundreds of properties and land for sale in the area, waiting for young and eager people to come and bring new life into it

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 175135558343

Comentário (3)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Help us with our self-sufficient house in the Catalan Pyrenees
Volunteer in our non-profit on the Camino De Santiago, Spain