1 / 5

Come and help an artistic host with not enough hours in the day, near Urciers, France

  • França
  • Favorito 50 vezes
  • Última atividade: 15 out. 2022



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos



  • Descrição


    We run a country B+B where we offer creative stays as short breaks. We live in a very rural setting in the centre of France 5.5km from our nearest small town and 17km from a bigger town with all the usual amenities. At home we have gardens, vegetable patch and a poly-tunnel. There's always plenty of work to be done in the garden, (weeding, planting, mowing, hedge trimming etc) as well as general maintenance, (painting and decorating) - none of it is heavy or difficult. We could do with extra help a certain times of the year to keep it all under control as there's just me (Debi), my Dad (John) who's in his 80s and my teenage daughter (Caity).
    We are a friendly easy going family and next door is our lovely French neighbour, Gérard. We've lived here many years and would love to share our local knowledge with any travellers visiting us.
    I'm an eco-artist, and work from home. I do all sorts of creative activities like eco-printing with plants, felt making, painting with natural pigments, sewing and textiles and these days mainly working with wire (copper, iron, steel) creating wall art and sculptures. I don't have a lot of time on my hands to do all the gardening, and my spare time is taken up with cooking for the family - so anyone who likes to garden and/or cooking will be exceptionally welcome.
    We have a few chickens, ducks, a cat and two dogs...who are a bit energetic, but calm down once they say hello for five minutes!.
    Our neighbour has some sheep in his fields around us...and then we are surrounded by more fields, hedges, and some woodland.
    Around us we have swimming lakes, good cycling and walking country. It's rural, peaceful. The local towns and villages are mostly medieval in age, so there's plenty of historical places to visit.
    We are English speaking; my French is OK and my daughter is fluent. We are happy to help with spoken French language skills. And, of course, if anyone French speaking visits us, we are very eager to learn.
    At the moment, we are interested in help later in the year, as we are now in our tourist season and don't have any spare rooms for helpers.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We try to run an organic garden, and like to grow all sorts. Your host is an eco-artist; so for those creative travellers out there, you could benefit from some play time in the indoor or outside studios. You could have a go at things like eco printing with plants, felt making, painting with natural pigments etc

  • Ajuda


    We have a house in a rural setting in central France and need help with general garden maintenance and maybe a bit of redecorating from time to time in the house. Our veg garden is nearly all above ground, in boxes, so no heavy digging. We have a poly-tunnel. Then we have other garden areas, so maybe hedge cutting and lawn mowing, weeding etc
    In and around the house, painting and decorating sometimes required. Oh and we are always happy for anyone who likes to do a bit of house work, or cooking. All pretty easy work, nothing too heavy.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    We have two spare double bedrooms each with their own private shower room. There's a conservatory that has tea and coffee making facilities etc...just for guests...as we understand the need for a bit of "me" time away from hosts.
    You can help yourself to breakfast, and usually make your own lunch (we provide the food of course); or sometimes it will be all together - but you'll always get a nice cooked meal with the family once a day.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    When you are not busy helping us around the place - you can relax at home...there's plenty of space. If you have your own transport (recommended, but not essential) there's lots of places to explore. There's not much in the way of public transport - but if we go out anywhere, you'll be welcome to join us. There's green lane walking direct from the door too and two very eager dogs that would love to be taken for a walk.
    We tend to enjoy staying home, but if there's a local fete or brocante on, we'll usually visit it. We like to have the occasional meal out in restaurants too.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have space to park a campervan and you can use the toilet and shower facilities in the house.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 151998721132

Comentário (2)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)