Ranch adventure in British Columbia, Western Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 1596 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    12/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a ranch (some say a funny farm) in the Cariboo region of British Columbia, Canada. We have 200 acres near Lac La Hache, and are surrounded on all sides by government owned forests open for public recreation. Our dry, sunny climate makes for the privilege of a life lived mostly outdoors. We are 1hr flight or 6hrs drive north of Vancouver. We raise all natural, free-ranged, cows, pigs and sheep. We also have chickens, horses, livestock dogs and a donkey. We have 3 fun loving, active boys, 18yrs and 13yr old twins.

    We are travellers ourselves and home school our kids so we are always looking to both provide and accept opportunities for life experience and cultural diversity. We have had wonderful experiences with local and international visitors and would like to expand that part of our lives. Our focus is on providing an opportunity for someone to learn our way of life and for us to learn from you so individuals of all skill types are welcome although a reasonable level of physical fitness and good health are a must. Special knowledge and skills are not required but common sense and a good work ethic go a very long way.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Companhia para idosos
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Learn sustainability, environmental responsibility and ethical livestock production. Milking, making cheese, yogurt, butter and ice cream. Plant and harvest the garden and greenhouse. Learn to handle animals, participate in or learn about small scale processing of livestock (personal use) including sausage making, curing and smoking.

    We live in the country so there is little "nightlife". There are pubs, restaurants, bike park, bowling alley and a theatre in the neighbouring town (1hr away) which we don’t get in to very often but if you have your own vehicle, you have plenty of time to explore. You can attend local events (ie: ranch brandings, rodeos, parades, farmers markets, local celebrations, etc) to sample community life. We help out at many neighbouring ranches during their busy seasons so there is opportunity to see other types of farming styles as well and be part of the community. If you have your own vehicle/camp gear and wish to use the ranch as a base camp that's an excellent option. We can organize work for you when you are here and be very flexible for times you are not.
    It can also be very quiet at the ranch so applicants best suited enjoy both the hustle and bustle of busy ranch life but are able to enjoy the peace and relaxation of country life when it presents itself.

    Over the past 13 years we have hosted from all over Switzerland, Austria, UK, Canada, Australia, Costa Rica, USA, Catalonia, France, New Zealand, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Scotland, Denmark, Japan, Norway and the Faroe Islands.

    Absolutely no smokers or pets please. No exceptions on either. Alcohol is permitted but not provided (alcohol is expensive in Canada). We totally understand that this is a working vacation for those coming to stay with us and encourage you to kick back and relax with a drink. There is a liquor store in the nearest town and you have your own fridge.

    Travel medical insurance is a must. There are endless opportunities for adventure here. Unfortunately that comes with endless opportunities for misadventure. It is extremely important to make sure you are covered in the event of an injury, however mild.

    Those interested should enjoy children and be able to spend time and dialogue with them. Our kids are here all the time since they are home-schooled and are an important part of our daily life here. We take opportunities during downtime to do some "book-learning" and the rest of their schooling is life here at the ranch. There are times we all split up and go different directions for fun or tasks and you may have a kid on your team :) We enjoy having them around and include them in our activities wherever possible from chores to quad biking to leisurely meals on the dock - they are there :)
    They are busy, talkative boys who are genuinely interested in our visitors so if you are uncomfortable relating to kids it is not a great fit

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Learn sustainability, environmental responsibility and ethical livestock production. Milk the cow, make cheese, yogurt, butter and ice cream. Learn to plant, tend, harvest, cook and preserve what you have grown. Learn to handle animals, participate in or learn about small scale processing of livestock (personal use) including sausage making, curing and smoking. Operate equipment, build and repair, harvest and split wood....the list goes on and on and on.

    Although there are some basic daily chores, we have no set schedules and projects vary by season and activity. Farming/ranching is a lifestyle, not a job. We all just pitch in together and accomplish what needs to be done. There are not specific days on and off and we do not start and end at specific times (it's hard to tell a sheep when to have her babies!) but there is lots of downtime to enjoy this paradise.

    I am a Director at our local food bank and manage the food waste reduction program there. My twice weekly work there is volunteer and I love to take our visiting workaways with me to help out and learn about food insecurity and better food recycling. We pick up food waste from the local grocery stores, sort, store and distribute human-grade food through the food bank. Food not consumable by humans is passed through to a team of local famers who recycle to livestock and compost programs. I'm pretty passionate about this project and do all our grant writing.

    Spring, summer, autumn activities include horseback riding, swimming, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, canoeing, etc. We are hardy, active and love the outdoors. We keep work fun and play even more so. We applaud and support programs like this and look forward to sending our kids on workaway stays. With that in mind, we treat everyone with the respect and care that we would hope others would show them. We try hard to make sure that this is a two-way exchange of experience and opportunity - not some pool of cheap labour. The more open you are to try things, the more things we will find for you to try.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a self-contained suite approximately 100m from our house. Clean, private, comfortable with small kitchenette, full shower and laundry facilities right in your suite. Good cell signal on your deck.

    Travelers with their own campervans and RV's welcome any time - we can arrange use of shower and laundry facilities and have places to plug in but have no pressurized water hook ups. We are a great stop over on the way north to Yukon or Alaska.

    We often eat lunch and/or dinner together (or you can choose to eat on your own whenever you prefer - we can stock you up with groceries). I provide all the foods/coffee/tea for prep in your suite. I need my alone time in the morning before everyone else wakes up :) I love to learn other cooking styles so welcome anyone willing to teach me!
    Vegetarians are welcome but with recognition that we are a meat producing farm of happy omnivores and we believe deeply in what we do. There is always a good variety of food on the table - beyond that I cannot accommodate really picky eaters or special diets at this time (just too hard with the kids).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are a million things to do if you enjoy the outdoors. Paddle boarding, canoeing, hiking, visiting the multitude of very friendly animals, work with the horses, or just relax. It’s absolute paradise. All food, linens, shampoo, laundry soap, etc, etc, etc provided. Just show up and be part of the ranch. Clean up after yourself and be ok with spending time on your own in the early mornings and the evenings as I like to have coffee alone in the morning (that's probably best for everyone :) and we like to wind down and retire early after dinner. We’re a friendly bunch and work/play together well, but we are also big on personal time and space, which is why we provide a separate comfortable space for our guests so that is possible. It’s always a best fit when we have guests that feel the same way. That's why we are specifically looking for couples or very independent singles to come hang out at the ranch with us.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have safe, comfortable space to park but no water or electrical hook ups for motohomes/rvs

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    few hours per day

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)









































Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 14738523874d