Help on the land, around the house and experienced house-sitting at my beautiful off-grid Quinta in Central Portugal

  • Favorito 446 vezes
  • Última atividade: 27 mar. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    Hi! In the mountains of central Portugal, I live with my dog in a remote, south-facing, beautiful off-grid Quinta with several original rebuilt slate houses and barns.
    I am in my early 60 and left 10 years ago a busy former world behind to live a sustainable life. Out of the city, back to nature, enjoying the land, fresh air and the wild life around. Deer, foxes, wild boar, birds and my bees are just a few of the animals who share their land with me. As there are no streetlights anywere around there are great starlit night skies!
    One of my passions is taking care of the land, Mother Earth. I value and respect the peaceful tranquillity of the land and like to share this space with like minded people, who like to help out, and have a joyful and perhaps even a healing time!

    Maybe it is important for you to know that the old cultivated land, the forrest of Oak/divers trees on the Quinta and the houses are untouched by the big fires in October 2017. For the last years cleaning the forrest and reforesting has been done and is still one of the main projects that is still going on. Planting new trees (re-afforestation) is happening mainly in wintertime when there is enough rain for the young trees to grow. I am replanting also from my own little tree nursery.

    I am very lucky to live opposite a nature reserve with mostly native trees, which is very special in this country.
    In springtime on the Quinta there are many wild flowers. Everywhere young Pines, Oaks, Chestnut, Cork Oaks, other native trees and bushes, like flowering heather, are coming back, Nature is very resilient :-).
    I am part of a beautiful community, and there are activities organized, helping eachother out, connecting people.

    Keywords; My lovely dog, Nature, Earth, Animals, Sustainability, Gardening, Reforesting, Trees, Eco system, Nature, Respect, Team work, Music, Meditation, Humor, Laughter, Buddhism, Connecting people, Open for new things/ideas, Singing, Dance, Philosophy, Reading, Photography, Positive thinking, Cooking, Healing Tao, Thich Nhat Hanh, Art, Community, Martial Arts, hiking.

    Keywords property: Remote farm in nature, old agricultural terraces, mountains, silence, off-grid, sustainable, eco-farm, vegetable gardens, composting, grey water system, gardening, native forrest, forestry, beehives, little river, wildlife, birds, Healing land.

    Just to let you know, I am not on facebook or any other social media. Hope you appreciate and respect this kind of privacy I have chosen consciously. I have WiFi (but sometimes limited because of my location).

    Cooking and meal preparation will be shared amongst those confident in cooking :-).
    Some DIY, painting and construction around the house has to be done in the season(s) depending necessity. Important to know, in the summer it can be very hot, it is important to be able to stand the heat.

    - I would also welcome Couples who would like to help out, who can help independently and do maybe some housesitting, have a feeling of responsibility, have knowledge of working in vegatables gardens and life on the

    - Looking for experienced and responsible house sitters; to look after my dog, the vegatable gardens/land (Preferably own a 4x4 car with experience driving on sandy roads/tracks).

    - My hosting place is not suitable for families or a pet of your own.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I offer a place to experience the alternative way of life. Learn about many ways of Off-Grid living. The beautiful land and Quinta feels very quiet and peaceful, it may give you more than you could think off. Meet other people who live in the same circumstances, other off-grid family's and artists. Be your true self (ore find it :-)), it is all possible here at the Quinta!

  • Ajuda


    I would like to have help with:

    * Farm/house sitting (experienced people only)
    * Carpentry
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Revitalising the land
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Preparation and maintenance of vegetable gardens
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Reforesting / forest management
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Preparing firewood. (Chopping and splitting wood)
    * Handy with machines would be helpful
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ General Maintenance help on buildings, like wood treatment, small repairs, cleaning etc..
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Maintenance of cultivated lands.
    *️ Cooking : your input in cooking is very welcome!
    * When necessary driving a 4x4 car
    * …… And dog-whispering :-)

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Português: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    I have a beautiful little guesthouse with one double bed (140x200cm), shower, kitchen, compost toilet, wood burner, with a little terras.

    In exchange of your help, I provide accomodation and vegetarian food. Or, if you like, you could also now and then could make your own food in the guesthouse.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The nearest village is a 25 minutes walk through nature (10 minutes by car). It has a little hotel with café/restaurant/mini supermarket. The café/restaurant has free Wi-Fi. Once a day a bus is going to the nearest town(s).
    I am part of a nice and inspiring alternative community in the nearby valleys with artists, craftsmen, therapists, musicians, farmers, writers etc. Twice e a month there is a eco market, and in 2 larger towns not so far away, a weekly big market is organised.
    Events (music, art, dance, movie, workdays, workshops, etc.) are organised by the community.
    There are walking tracks close to my Quinta and in the National Nature Forrest and beautiful villages nearby. Close to my village is a big waterfall, nice for walks or meditation. The mountains around offer lots of possibilities for picknicks, walks, and swimm.
    From the nearby village it is another 20 minutes walk to the next village that has a nice Esplenada with a café and a river pool, or you could take the local bus to the nearest town, which leaves early morning and returns in the end of the afternoon.
    A small city, 1h.15 drive away, is very beautiful to visit, has nice restaurants, bars, national music events and theatre.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 143294999851

Comentário (6)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Help with childcare and sustainable home renovation near Peniche, Portugal
Help us with homeschooling in the forest, Amarante, Portugal