Growing house trees in Detroit, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 117 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    26/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I am working to develop an abandoned house into an intentional community dedicated to growing house trees, basically trees that can support a human home.

    So far, I've built out a bed/bath/laundry area and along with one additional bed room and some kitchen space inside a gutted 5,000 ft² (400m2 or something) 100+ year old house and planted a dozen trees. The house is on the corner and the rest of the block, once full of houses, is for the trees. [2022 fall update: The mother tree, an American sycamore, grew 3 feet this year and is almost taller then me!!!! We'll plant a couple dozen more trees this spring.] One day, I hope the field will be a forest full of tree houses.

    None of the spaces you'll be helping to renovate or grow will be for paying guests in the future, this project is part of the free economy and a gift to the world. Hopefully a great one!

    About me: I believe deeply in both hospitality and labor. I've spent much of the last ten years hosting though couch surfing. Now, I'm trying to reorganize my life around the goal of growing, learning, and teaching about house trees. Since some of my best experiences with couch surfers were working on this old house, it made sense to migrate over to this site after cs lost focus. At the moment, I work full time as a forensic engineer. I ride bikes and play the banjo and the drumset and hack the sack

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We could learn how to grow house trees. Also, I can teach you how to learn the banjo.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    There's three big bins of help:
    1) ordinary stuff like cooking, cleaning, yardchores, gardening, laundry, and shopping.
    2) home rennovations like sanding, scraping, painting, insulating, glazing, carrying, sorting...et cetera, nothing to replace skilled tradesmen
    3) projects including seed collection, germination, planting, irrigation, fertilization, grafting, research, planning...and the unknown!

    Stamina beats experience, eventually.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Russo: Intermediário
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante
    Hebrew: Iniciante
    Italiano: Iniciante
    Thai: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    I finally have a second bedroom built out! It's really nice. Bathroom and kitchen down the hall. Lots of work still to do Camping and facilities are available at the project site. Ideally, we can share some oatmeal in the morning, a sumptuous lunch after work, and none will go hungry.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The project site is in a neighborhood just north of the Eastern market. I have bikes to share. Detroit is really an amazing city, good spirit here.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Yes, though Internet is sometimes a little spotty

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    I have a little driveway and a big field where you can camp

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    8-12 M-F



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 143285713593