Help with veg garden and around the house in Gotland, Sweden

Country

Suécia

Favorito 92 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    08/08/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    594

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    THE PLACE
    There are five separate households in this place that was once an active biodynamic farm that sold vegetables to whole food stores and a Rudolf Steiner school. Organic since 1973. The owner is retired now.
    Quiet place, surrounded by forest, off the main roads.

    My house started out as a trailer, now built into a summer house. I spend winters in Portugal, now that I've retired since a couple of years. I have a big vege garden. I used to store veges for the whole winter too, but now that I'm away for 4-5 months during winter I've cut down a bit on that.
    This summer the house needs to be painted and there are a few building projects that would be great to get done. To do that I need help from someone who knows what they are doing when it comes to carpentry and using tools since my own experience in building is very limited. You would be the builder and I the assistant. I would like to have the (quite small) store room insulated, and the espalier (tellis) renovated and add a bit to it.
    So someone with experience with this kind of work would be the priority and a great help! If you're interested, let's talk about it.

    I can host one (!) volunteer with some experience with gardening, painting and building for 1-2 weeks. You need to be able to work independently.
    I can offer accomodation in the guest corner in my living room divided by curtains only - or the until now uninsulated store room. (it can get cold at night there). I expect us to share daily house shores, with food preparation, washing dishes etc. We'll make some meals together and sometimes you will prepare your own.
    Work can be week days or weekends, around 4-5 hours a day, five days a week.

    SURROUNDINGS
    There are nice small roads and paths in the area for bicycling, and we will also find some opportunities to take trips to some hidden treasures around the island.

    About the host:
    I have traveled a lot, I'm interested in arts and culture, meditation, philosophy and the deeper meaning of things, different cultures, nature naturally, sustainable living, good natural food etc
    I'm turning 67 this year and can feel my body doesn't want to do all the things I want it to and used to be able to. So I go easy and don't push myself. I can be quite impulsive when it comes to work, and I like to chill a lot in between activities. It's enriching to meet people from different parts of the world, but I also need time to just be quiet and have my own space.

    Internet
    Sorry, I don't have an open wifi connection, the internet I have is on my phone, which I use as a router for my computer that you can use sometimes.


    MORE
    The diet is varied. I can cater for vegetarians.
    You need a travel insurance.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Many people like to come to Gotland, this island in the middle of the Baltic sea, for the nature, the light and the history. We can explore some of that.
    Life in the country side, a quite simple lifestyle, self sustainable on vegetables.
    We can meditate together if you're into that.
    Plus experimenting with cooking!

    I have traveled the world, into the arts and photography, philosophy and multi-culturalism. We enjoy to discuss different perspectives on life and society.

    Many have expressed that they felt such peace here. It's great to be able to share that. Here are some voices from helpers previous years:
    "It has been such a precious time...and peaceful... I learned a lot trying new things, with herbs from garden, edible wild plants and many kinds of spices!..."
    "Nice and peaceful place... Here you can see, feel an eat plenty nature... suitable for people who wants to learn about vegetable gardening...open minded people... I will come back!"
    "I discovered a new way of life..."
    "Discover how do vegetables look in the ground before to land in my plate... discuss of lot of things together..."
    "I really enjoyed to help with weeding, picking (straw-)berries and some renovation work... Plus: awesome food! ;) See you soon again..."
    "...introduced me many beautiful places as well as farming. I enjoyed everything...has great knowledge of life..."

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Vege garden work:
    weeding, thinning, planting, mulching and harvesting
    House work:
    keeping things tidy, cooking
    Painting
    Building (if you have skills)

  • Idiomas

    Danish: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Guest corner in living room, divided by curtains. Possibly the store room which is not yet insulated.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The place is located 30 km from Visby on the middle of the island of Gotland. From Visby one can take a bus that runs through Roma, then towards Lye. Get off at the turn off to Bjärges (the bus stop is called Vänge) where you can be picked up (unless we arrange something else beforehand). It's 6 km from the bus stop. Fairly frequent bus traffic around the island especially in the summer.
    There are nice small roads and paths in the area for bicycling, and we will also find some opportunities to take trips to some hidden treasures around the island.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    It's possible to park a campervan here, it has to be discussed in advance.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 142117627861