Volunteer with a green and pet friendly family in Edinburgh, Scotland, UK

Country

Reino Unido

Favorito 155 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    02/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    96.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 9 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    FERRET/HOUSE SITTER WANTED for 1 Week in October 16th to 24th October


    Approximately. We're looking for someone with animal experience and a genuine passion for all creatures great and small, including the cute but smelly ones. We need feisty Ferret Sitters to stay in our place and look after our mischievous and slightly stinky wee men whilst we go on some short adventures/ volunteer adventures of our own! We realise this may take a special someone/ or a couple or family, who are playful at heart, experienced around small animals and willing to share a house with them and the entertainment of walking them on a lead around the streets of Edinburgh; its a cross between living inside a zoo and managing to toddlers who aren't yet 100 percent toilet trained! The plus side; they sleep most of the day whilst you explore the city!********

    The Lowdown:

    Ellie, Simon and Sula (age 12) and Crash and Tumble the rescue ferrets ( recent additions to the family ) live in a tiny cottage in the beautiful city of Edinburgh, Scotland where we do everything we can in our work and home lives to further our mission to help Edinburgh become a sustainable low carbon city! We travel by bike, eat local and veggie, use reclaimed materials for mostly everything and take part in local and national non violent action to protect the planet.

    Our family works by day in a range of non profits across the city. Ellie works part time for Sustrans, an active travel charity and the rest as a landscape and tree protection officer, whilst Simon works on a natural building project (strawbale) for an Edinburgh charity, and the rest of the time as a woodworker with a local school.

    Sula does the things that 12 year olds do....! Right now this involves mostly playing in the park with friends, Minecraft, looking after the ferrets and being with her pals.

    And the ferrets: well they sleep by day and create mischief first thing in the morning and evening! They love to get into everything, chase each other when feeling playful, and be taken around the neighbourhood for walks on a lead. They are quite smelly. They live in the house. Not your average city setup, more like a tiny farm or zoo.

    Our mission is to about proving that low carbon city living, eco DIY and redesign (making innovative and useful products from salvaged materials) is fun and possible for anyone!

    We have a passion for travel, the outdoors, cycling and sustainable living, and love veggie and vegan food (except Sula who loves Pepperoni!), good company and the chance to swap skills and ideas. With too many day jobs it's sometimes a crazy juggling act so we welcome volunteers who bring energy, a sense of humour and who really want to make a difference, and are willing to be flexible to help us out on whatever task is the project of the day!

    Some examples of daily tasks we could sure use help with:-

    WE NEED A FERRET / HOUSE SITTER to look after the cheeky wee men whilst we take our own chance to travel or volunteer.

    Pet sitting
    Day to day looking after the ferrets; walking, playing, enclosure cleaning, scooping the poop (you are warned!)

    In future we may also need:

    Small scale eco DIY projects and repairs around the house using sustainable and upcycled materials
    Help finish our reclaimed garden and natural ferret enclosure
    Helping tend the allotment
    Cooking to share with the family (simple veggie dishes or your own veggie specialities)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We welcome you into our family, make yourself at home and we all just muck in together to do what needs to be done! We like to chat whilst we work, and find out about your and your travels! Hopefully you'll learn about a crazy english family in Scotland who live their life trying to be sustainable, taking non violent direct action to protect the planet and take in strange pets as rescues! We don't promise to teach you any great wisdom, but we do live in an inspiring city with lots to see and do and beautiful countryside roundabout. We are happy to share tips and advice on onwards travel and adventures!

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Pet care, pet sitting (2 well handled ferrets) currently living in the house. maybe in future, but not right now:
    DIY, Joinery and woodwork projects
    Small scale eco renovation
    Horticulture, urban food growing
    Help us with our eco DIY and garden projects at home

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A clean but basic Double Room in our family home, a simple (under shoestring gradual eco-renovation) stone terraced upper flat with a garden on a lovely cobbled street. We live in the colonies, which are historic terraces in Edinburgh, they are cute but very tiny, so you have be to willing to share space, including with the two mischievous (and we freely admit quite stinky) ferrets who are allowed out for free play around the house several hours a day!

    You'll have access to our shared shower room, shared kitchen and shared living room as well as your own double bedroom.

    Please be aware we really only suit kid and pet friendly tolerant folk ideally with experience of ferrets so you are prepared! Ours currently have free access to the main part of the house (not bedrooms!) several hours a day so you need to be super comfortable with small slightly smelly and not 100% house trained rescue pets! On the flip side they are very cute and entertaining and very well handled.
    There! We warned ye!

    One of our family smokes, but we are a smoke free house. Smoking in the garden is ok though!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    This would work during the holidays when we are looking for pet and house sitters. For hosting, this could also work if your hours are flexible; we will also be working so most of our work alongside our volunteers needs to be in the evenings or weekends. If you are able to work during part of the day and be available to help out for other times this could work for you!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 13564555774d