Help us with gardening and aquaponics in North Central Florida, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 528 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    05/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    73.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 14 dias

  • paid opportunity

    Anfitrião oferece remuneração

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We live on a scenic road that is treated like a National Park. People come here to walk and run on the road every day. It is pastoral and relaxing. We are 15 minutes from Gainesville, Fl. close to High Springs and many crystal clear springs and rivers popular with divers, canoers, kayakers and tubers. We live in a house built in 1859! Two years before the Civil War. It is restored and a delight to call home. It is on one acre surrounded by 100 acres of conservation land. We have an inground pool to cool off in daily during our 85-100 degree summer days. We have a nice organic garden and chickens.

    We also own 7 acres and this is where the rose nursery is located, the aquaponics and the aquatic plant nursery. We also have a large fruit tree orchard there. We have been at both places for only one year as we moved from around the corner where we lived for 37 years. My husband has a sailboat and other boats he likes to tinker with.

    We need help in the rose nursery, the aquaponics and our general house and garden chores. We are looking for a dedicated workawayer who can also house sit for us in mid August for a week. It would be good to have a car. We can provide a private room in our home and a private bath, dinners included for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. We are very experienced homesteaders living a totally organic and spiritually-minded lifestyle and we love to share our knowledge and learn from others.

    We are in the hills of North Central Florida and St. Augustine Beach is 1.5 hours away. Also not far from Crystal River as well. The storybook town of Alachua is 2 miles down the road with all amenities of small town living. Mickey Singer author of The Untethered Soul gives satsang talks 3 times a week, free yoga and more only a few miles away (covid has put a pause on activities at the Temple of the Universe). The Hare Krishna Temple is within 5 miles as well.

    The Retirement Home for Horses is around the corner. Several Organic farms are nearby as well.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are now in our 60s and have a lifetime of experience in all things organic. From dairy goats to chickens to aquaponics, we have been living a permaculture lifestyle our entire lives.

    James is a master builder and specializes in building anything from houses to cabinets to pavers and patios and especially all types of ponds and waterfalls for the past 35 years. We have an extensive tool shop and anyone interested can learn much from this master woodworker. You could learn the art of building ponds as well.

    He is also restoring a sailboat.

    I am immersed in the daily growing and caring for roses organically. I use many methods and I teach classes in rose growing as well as aquaponics.

    We are married 44 years in December with 4 wonderful grown children who pop in from time to time.
    We are easy to get along with and you should feel right at home here. We have a Papillon named Lollipop who is our child at home. We have 6 hens and a rooster as well.

  • Anfitriões que oferecem uma remuneração de acordo com o salário mínimo do país.

    Anfitriões que oferecem uma remuneração de acordo com o salário mínimo do país.

    Este anfitrião oferece acomodação e remuneração.

    O anfitrião indicou que vai pagar um valor equivalente ao menos ao salário mínimo do país por hora trabalhada e a acomodação também vai ser fornecida. Está buscando ajuda com um estabelecimento ou atividade comercial. Entre em contato com o anfitrião pelo sistema de mensagens para obter mais informações sobre o pagamento oferecido. Qualquer acordo deve ser combinado com antecedência com o anfitrião.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We would require 5 hours of help each day for 5 days a week. The 2 days off would be either
    weekends or not depending on our schedule. General nursery help weeding, mulching, fertilizing, potting would be the main task. Possibly helping with the weekly shipping. Some gardening in our aquaponics systems is nice to have help with.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We could provide 1 private bedroom and a bathroom. Also would include at least 5 dinners / week and some breakfasts when available. We are vegetarian and eat organic. Would need to purchase some food for lunches, etc. We could give rides to town when convenient. Use of a bicycle. We have a canoe to loan.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    On time off you may explore our many springs in the area, a favorite being the Itchitucnee
    Springs and state park for tubing and swimming, Oleno State park, canoeing and kayaking the Santa Fe River, Ginny Springs, Po Springs, etc. High Springs is a fun antique town with some great restaurants, as is Alachua, our town.

    The Retirement Home for Horses is around the corner and visitors are welcome every sat. to feed the horses carrots. Cedar Lakes Botanical gardens is also next to Devil's Den springs, a popular place. Many Festivals in Gainesville and surrounding areas. We have a nice Kanapaha Botanical Gardens, great farmers markets, a fun CSA called Swallowtail Farm just up the road.

    I am home most days working in my organic rose nursery. This is mainly where the help is needed. I grow over 2000 varieties of rare roses organically on their own roots.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a hookup at our home near our pool or we have accommodations on our 7 acres with a stunning view.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 134811964163