Help with the renovation of an old house south of Toulouse, France

Country

França

atualizado  

Favorito 953 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    17/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a recently-retired couple looking to live quietly and sustainably in a peaceful part of France. We have a wide experience of travel and life. Predominantly vegetarian, not vegan, our interests/skills include teaching, skiing, walking, canoeing/kayaking , crafts, and gardening.

    We are British, and speak English as our first language, but we speak some other languages more or less fluently.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    There may be opportunities to acquire skills in gardening, building and decorating.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are renovating a 500 year old French house in the foothills of the Pyrenees that has suffered more than 50 years of neglect.

    The sort of jobs that we would like help with include renovating and decorating the house, some gardening, and occassionally animal care. We are looking for fit and healthy individuals who have held a paintbrush in their hand (and used it) and would like to help with painting walls and woodwork, and those that have helped in a garden before and know what a stinging nettle is, and are not afraid of insects that are numerous in our garden but harmless. Otherwise training will be given as we will do various projects together.

    There may be a possibility of a longer stay on workaway basis, and/or on minding the house and animal basis, for a suitable candidate. Please write with any questions.

    We are not medically trained to deal with any health issues or help anyone who is taking any form of medication, suffering from depression or similar, take drugs or other stimulants, or drink alcohol. We are very sensitive to strong smells and for this reason cannot accept smokers of cigarettes or otherwise.

    We would like help 5 hrs per day, with breaks in between, 5 days per week. We have bicycles you can borrow from us, or/and take trips with us.

    We cannot accommodate people with children, or pets as we have animals here.

    For those with nut allergies, also note, we eat tree nuts a lot.

    It is important that everyone has a suitable visa and health/accident insurance in place. We do not issue letters of invitation. Those that need to quarantine please do it before you arrive here. We also ask that you have a lateral Covid test on the morning of arriving at our place.

    For health and safety reasons you must speak fluent English or French.

    We would welcome a native French speaker who has a very good command of french grammar so that we could improve our spoken french. In exchange we would help, if desired, with English grammar, vocabulary, and speaking.

    The nearest airport is Toulouse, and there is a wide choice of local, national and international buses and trains. We can meet you at the nearest train station.

    On arrival we will ask to see your passport, take a number of it, and a name and telephone number of the next of kin.

    If this sounds like your kind of opportunity we would love to hear from you.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We are qualified English language teachers, and would be interested in French/English exchange lessons with a native French national. We are also looking for workawayer who would like to be a French language teacher as a workaway experience. This could be just to teach both of us French, i.e. spend 5 hrs per day teaching, or help with tasks that we have here to undertake for, say, 2 hrs per day and spend 3 hrs teaching French. Whichever would be more suitable by arrangement.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation (with WiFi) is in shared room (with one other) and shared bathroom. The room will be equipped with single beds, bedding, bed linen and towels will be provided. We will all take part/turns in preparing our food, cooking, washing dishes, cleaning the kitchen after meals, and other domestic chores such as sweeping and mopping floors of the areas we all use, and topping up spring water etc., unless agreed otherwise.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    During times off there are plenty of opportunities for walking and cycling, and sometimes rafting and canoeing. The house is in the Pyrenees where there are many interesting hiking trails. There is also a climbing centre right in the village. We would be happy for you to join us on our trips out.

    If you think this might suit you, please write to us explaining how you think your skills, personality and experience would be helpful to us, and what you hope to get from your stay with us. Please feel free to ask any specific questions if the information you need is not covered in the profile.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a good fibre wifi connection here

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have parking space for a car or a campervan, not motorhome (the gate is too narrow)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.8)










Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 124922572681