atualizado  

Rural, off-grid farm in Viseu, Central Portugal

  • Favorito 2412 vezes
  • Última atividade: 8 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    ## Currently looking for help for the last 2 / 3 weeks of June, as we start to may hay, clear the land for summer and care for the gardens - summer is coming! ##

    We are looking for a couple or small family - ideally with their own transport and without pets - to come and stay long-term to help with building maintenance, construction, vegetable farming, land clearing, in the kitchen and animal care ( sheep, goat, chicken, dog and cat ).

    People with experience and good reference from previous house/farm sitting assignments would be very welcome!

    The ideal volunteers will be open-minded, easy going and interested to learn about off-grid and remote living perhaps as this is something they have done before or plan to do in the future.

    Due to the exchange requirements, we prefer applications from people who have a little more life experience - ideally in their late 20's or older - fluent spoken English is required.

    The details of the exchange offered will be flexible and need to be clearly agreed before starting to make sure that the location, work and relationship feels good and balanced.

    ~~~~~~

    A rural creative space in the green heart of northern Portugal - connected to the old world and distant from the rush of modern life.

    We are usually doing creative jobs in the old stone houses, gardens, kitchens and gardening and renovation on the farm land.

    Opportunity for volunteers to see and learn from working examples of off-grid energy systems ( both solar and micro-hydro electricity ), grey water systems, compost toilets, small-scale agriculture and also online remote working.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Portuguese language skills, traditional crafts, off-grid and remote working - to name but a few :)

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The farm is located in a very rural part of Central Portugal, with an abundance of tradition, nature and opportunities for walking and to experience the local culture.

    However, it should be noted that any visitors would require their own transport and that the access to the property is via a loose dirt track which can become very wet during the winter months.

    The farm is totally off-grid, energy is provided by solar and micro-hydro generation ( from a small stream that borders the land ), we are gradually working towards being more self-sustainable and producing more of our food and others resources as locally as possible.

    The energy and water supply at the property is continual, but finite and it's important to understand that the more people on the property, the less energy is available per person - this is a simple behavioural requirements that is required to share common resources.

    All visitors have the opportunity to learn a few things about off-grid living, sustainability, traditional farming and land management or helping with locally sourced building materials, such as stone or wood.

    The land is open and spacious, with areas given over to living, farming, grazing, herbs, flowers and woodland - the valley below gives open views to the peaks of Portugal's highest mountains - The Serra da Estrela.

    Spring is an amazing display of colour and life - starting with the mimosas in February all the way into summer - flowers, birds and life in general celebrate the return of the heat from the suns rays.

    The area has very few foreigners, and the locals generally only speak Portuguese - lack of language skills in no ways blocks communication - but a basic spoken level can be of help in certain situations.

    Portugal is a safe, tolerant, relaxed and naturally beautiful land.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Polonês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    independent house with open plan kitchen / salon, single bedroom with en-suite shower, wood burning stove and underfloor heating throughout.
    Self-contained apartment with kitchen lounge, raised bedroom and shower + wood burning stove for heating.
    Bed in 6 bed dorm - clean and comfortable.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Please note:

    We would ask that all volunteers have their own travel or health insurance cover - we, of course take great care to avoid any dangers and aim to provide a safe and healthy environment - but we do not have or offer insurance to the volunteers that come.

    ~~~ Due to fire risk we do not allow any form of open fire or smoking anywhere on the farm ~~~

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Steep dirt road down, but passable by all but the largest of vehicles.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We have chickens, goats, sheep, a cat and a large dog, so while we might accept others, this would need to be very clearly agreed in advance and there is a good chance we would only be able to accept animals once we have met them in person.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours / day - 3 days a week.

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 12387295114e

Comentário (26)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)











































Supporting us to take care of these gardens where we host healing activities in Odemira, Portugal
Gardening, painting strimming digging help around the house and dog care in picturesque area of Monchique, Portugal