A magical place that needs love and creativity near Polski Trambesh, near to Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria



Favorito 257 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descrição


    I'm working on my Community Interest Company in the UK from February until July... there are some really nice people booked in to look after the furry family but I have some dates that I quickly need to fill... specifically 16th March to early April... I have permanently lived in this space since 2016. It is a beautiful house in a village in Bulgaria, where I live using bicycle, buses and trains as my only transport. Yes that includes trips back to the UK! The project has turned the house into an all seasons retreat, where I'm making creative workshops, so we are ready to house anyone who would benefit from a painting studio or yoga space. I'm hoping that I can turn this house into a permanent community, offering people with low income the opportunity to escape the strains of everyday life to focus on creative and practical projects. So I'm particularly interested in Workawayers who are looking for a longer term stay where they can really get stuck in to developing the house and calling it home.

    Through brainstorming ideas with Workawayer extraordinaire Xavier we have decided develop the garden to grow roses. There are 75 plants that need regular watering and pruning. The garden has good soil and makes use of compost, so it's quite unstoppable. There are detailed instructions about keeping the space watered and weeded. There will be nice veg patches in the spring!

    I adopt abandoned animals so I have a very social but well trained furry family out here too. It's even perfect for the snowy season if you're looking for a quiet and special place to sit out the winter. I have installed a full wood burner central heating system, a nice showering room and enough space to fit up to 6 people... That may be a bit of a squeeze at the moment actually, but I have three very comfortable rooms for people to live in. Having said this it is a great place to enjoy the isolation, working on writing, music or other creative projects, the space is adaptable to whatever dynamic makes people feel comfortable.

    This is a beautiful house far from the strains of civilisation. I came here when I was struggling to make enough money to live in the UK. Since then I have worked online as a freelance writer (so yes, there is very good WiFi) and have continued to make paintings (I have also learned to speak Bulgarian). I use derelict buildings in the village to make special places for people to relax in and nearby derelict buildings are good suppliers of materials. I'm especially currently looking for someone who knows about roofs, not for the main house but I intend to turn the barns into the main creative studio zone, so I hope someone out there likes the sound of that!

    I want other people to enjoy this place with me, help with the garden and help to make additions and adjustments, this home is an ongoing project and I want to use Workaway to learn new skills and make the place even more special. All work at the house is voluntary and and visitors are free to do as much or as little as they like. So long as the animals are happy and the space is kept tidy I'm happy to keep people fed and warm.

    In the nearby town I am trying to organise some art projects with locals, so watch this space. I make public art projects in the UK and want to make them international... Starting here with the Karantsi Brick Project... see the photos below!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Cuidar de animais
    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will learn how to give Roma children something positive to do by engaging with creative projects. When there is a group of three or more I can invite a Bulgarian teacher to the house on a weekly basis. The villagers are friendly so I believe language skills will increase the comfort of your experience.

  • Ajuda


    I want to develop the rose garden project. We can potentially sell roses at the local market... this is a plan that needs a bit of development and commitment! The space is wonderful for people to enjoy being away from the city, making artwork in a beautiful quiet place, so it's exciting to be putting the giant garden (which has periodically become overgrown throughout my time here) to some practical use. The house and garden is looked after by those who live here to help the place to grow with them. I would also love to have some help from electricians and builders. I've been teaching myself plastering so I'm ready to make myself useful in building the art studios but would love to have guidance from someone with experience.

  • Idiomas

    Bulgarian: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    This is a two bedroom house with a kitchen and a garage and many other rooms ready to be made useful.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are many ancient sites, waterfalls and monasteries within cycling distance. In the greenest country you can imagine! The house is in cycling distance from Polski Trambesh, where there is a train and bus station and a huge market every Wednesday. I have no car so I often make the hour and a half walk to and from the town while simultaneously taking audio Bulgarian lessons.
    Multitasking is good!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 122614712894