Help with our adobe, permaculture food forest and flowers in Northland, New Zealand

Country

Nova Zelândia

Favorito 28 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    25/10/2021

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Kia ora, welcome to New Zealand. I hope you have a wonderful experience in our country. We have a permaculture food forest property 2.5 acres in Kaiwaka, the gateway to Northland. I also love colour and flowers, so I'm now planting lots and lots of flowers. Flowers are for the bees and for joy.
    I grow vegetables year round so there's always working, learning and planning to do. We have a newly developed orchard of almost 200 fruit trees including figs (lots) , apple, pear, plums, peaches, cherimoya, casimiroa, mountain pawpaw, feijoa, guava,, passionfruit, grapes, lemon, limes, orange, mandarin, tangelo, pomegranate, persimmons, apricots, crab apple, mulberry, nectarine, Cape gooseberry... Oh, and a stack of new plants I just purchased, again. There's always room for more in a food forest.
    We have grapevines and berries to plant, more fig trees to propogate (please bring me some new cuttings), avocado's to establish and flowers. I want flowers everywhere.
    I'll teach you about permaculture, compost, seed saving, weeding and all the joy of gardening!
    Were also doing adobe bottle bricks for the Fibonacci Cathedral (bathroom) and light earth cabin bathroom.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are looking forward to sharing our home and time with you. We love to have guests join us for family meals, walks on the beach, and I can even take you to yoga or freedance if you want to have a go. I'm passionate about permaculture and organics, and happy to share my knowledge with you. I can teach you about soil and compost, including worm farms, bokashi and even humanure if you want! We live 15 minutes from several beaches including mangawhai Heads, Mangawhai Estuary and Te Arai surf beach.
    I'm into wholesome, delicious vegetarian food including fermented food, slow food, sourdough bread and hearty goodness. Cake is important too of course. I'd love to exchange recipes and learn your favourite dishes too.
    My house is off-grid, solar power, log burner and we have composting toilets, you will need to be conscious of power use, light the fire in the winter afternoon and conserve water in summer. It is important to check with me about your shampoo and soap etc as everything is composted by worms. We must look after these little workers very carefully. You can recharge your devices and have a quick hot shower every afternoon. You will be warm and cosy with the log burner and have delicious hot vegetarian meals each day.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are continuing an exciting eco-build project! You and the team are building an Adobe spiral bottle house outdoor bathroom and need your help and enthusiasm. Yes, it's an earth building using Adobe and bottle bricks. We'll be making lots of glass bricks from old bottles, mixing clay and straw for the adode and creating beautiful designs. The shape of the bottle house comes from nature-the Fibonacci spiral.
    When we're not working on this we'll be gardening, sowing seeds, planting seedlings, making compost, or patting our adorable kunekune pigs, collecting the eggs from our lovely flock of hens. We might plant more fruit trees, do some weeding, or putting gravel on the path to the new cabin. Did I mention my passion for figs? I collect as many varieties as possible. Please bring me some cuttings if you can!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante
    Maori: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation is either in the cabin, sunroom or the spare bedroom, depending on how many workaway and family are staying. Both are cosy and comfortable. If there's a bigger team here we'll have to get more creative but I'll make sure you are safe and comfortable on a couch, with a hottie if it's cold. The cabin is brand new, insulated and cosy. It's off-grid, does not have any power or cooking facilities. You can enjoy total peace.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Your days off will be the days I'm at work so I can drop you off along the way while you explore the countryside or go down to Auckland. The bus goes to wellsford or kaiwaka where I can pick you up for a short drive to our home.
    All the usual comforts are available while Our property is off grid living. You will be able to experience truly being attuned to nature's resources. You will be warm and comfortable but in the winter we can't use a hair dryer unless it's a very sunny few days. I love my creature comforts so our composting toilets are not going to make you crinkle your nose. Experience comfort and care for nature too.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 119223568731