Help out on our off-grid homestead in Kaitaia, New Zealand

Country

Nova Zelândia

Favorito 18 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    25/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We live in the beautiful Far North on a secluded 92 hectare slice of heaven. 25 hectares is garden and pasture where we have a small heard of cows mainly for pasture management. The rest is native bush. We're a homestead aiming to grow as much of our own organic produce as we can. We're new at this having only taken over the land late 2021 but are learning fast. We are 100% off the grid with our own hydro generator. The land backs on to DOC land so if you are looking for peace and privacy look no further. Here on the land you will find native bush, a pine forest, stunning views, a private river, pure spring fed water, trampoline and swings for the kids, organic produce and maybe even a kiwi or two. Our land is a mixture of native bush, pasture and permaculture garden/orchard. I live here with my husband who is originally from Colombia, my dad and our 2 boys (1 and 5 years old). Our family speaks English and Spanish and will be starting our homeschooling journey this year. Accommodation will most likely be in the yurts. There are 2 yurts as pictured, they are near each other and share a kitchen (the sky kitchen). Both yurts have a fireplace you are welcome to use and are cozy. We will provide breakfast food in the sky kitchen for you to help yourself to and a cooked meal which we will eat together in the evening (probably more like late afternoon because of the kids schedule). You will be responsible for your own lunch but are more than welcome to pick fresh produce from the garden. Availability will depend on the season but we get a pretty good crop even in the winter if we are organised.
    There is no Wifi or phone signal anywhere on the property. We do have wifi at the house but it is very slow and we all have to share it so access will be limited.
    Families are very welcome here and dogs are also ok as long as they are kept under control.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Here our main interest is organic gardening and garden design, I'd be very happy to hear what you know and share my own knowledge of this. My dad is 'the maintenance man' he always has some projects on the go and is happy to show you what he is doing. He can talk to you about our power system for hours. My husband and I have travelled all over NZ and lived in different places so maybe we can give you some ideas for your trip. The kids are such a delight to be around so fun and full of energy. Caleb is 5 and I'm sure he knows more about what is going on around here than I do.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We will need general help around the farm. Probably mulching trees, making compost, weeding, cleaning the chicken coop, planting seeds etc. We may also ask for help with preserving food, cleaning the house, cooking or entertaining the kids. If you have any skills especially building experience please let us know and we may be able set up a project for you to help with while you are here (such as building a chicken coop, or retaining wall, general maintenance or solar food dehydrator.) As we're new on this land we are still putting our stamp on it. If you have a preference eg don't want to get muddy or prefer to spend most of your time outside please ask we may be able to accommodate you and find projects that suit you better.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Yurt (5m), no wifi/reception or electricity in the yurts. We do have solar in the kitchen right next to the yurts (there are 2 in close proximity) so you can charge your devices there. You will share the yurt with the person you come with (they each have a double bed so we may put an airbed down) and if we have other workawayers you will share the kitchen/bathroom with them too. There is hot water up there.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Note: We are very strict about the one week minimum stay requirement, it takes that long to get settled. If you are flying in please check transport options before contacting us. There is a bus from Auckland to Kaitaia but it doesn't go everyday, in a car it's 4.5 hours drive. There is no public transport around here. We may be able to organise a bike for you if you need it. It's 25 mins drive to Kaitaia. we will pick you up and drop you off if you come by public transport but we usually go to town less than once a week so please bring all you will need for your stay. There is so much to do on the land I'm sure you will never be bored.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    ask for details on this, it may depend on the time of the year as it gets quite muddy and we don't want anyone getting stuck.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We can accept dogs but they must be kept under control. We do have kiwi in the land so it's up to you to decide if this will be a problem for your dog.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 118614671615