Volunteer with us in a rural area South of Brittany, France

Country

França

Favorito 248 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    20/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 8 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    The projet started in 2013 when my husband Max and I bought this lovely historic farmhouse with a hectare of land and many outbuildings. The property is snuggled just south of the Loire estuary, a stones throw from Brittany and numerous beaches. The house and buildings were all in a state of neglect. With the help of many wonderful friends, family and helpers from all over the world, the main renovation project has been pretty much completed. The garden has been transformed including the plantation of many beautiful trees, a stunning hedge, an orchard and a large organic vegetable garden planted using permaculture techniques. I run two holiday rentals on the property too.

    Sadly, Max passed away in August 2021. Hard to contemplate leaving such a magic place after all the effort we made together. Especially in view of the fantastic ambiance with the neighbours in the hamlet. A lot of cooperation, support and a lot of fun. I have had lots of help but the garden is big and I will need help over the summer months to harvest and transform the wonderful veggies, to water and to maintain the garden. There could be some small maintenance work too.

    I have a dog Witts and a young cat. Our 3 adult 'children' have flown the nest. I enjoy helping our workaway helpers to improve their language skills (either in French or in English) and give them the opportunity to discover the beauties of the Pays de Retz and South Brittany, from Nantes to Guérande and La Baule to Pornic.

    Working times are flexible to enable our helpers to enjoy longer week-ends to discover our region. Ihave bikes that you can borrow to explore during your time off. We take meals together and like to share the cooking experiences and test traditional dishes from different countries. A private bedroom and a shared bathroom is reserved for you in the main house.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I have been described as a good and patient teacher of both english and french by our previous helpers. Plenty to learn here about rural france, conserving fruits and natural gardening techniques. The summer months offer plenty of activity on the coast, concerts, street arts, sporting activities.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    A couple is great as you can discover the area together in your free time. I generally ask for a minimumof 2 weeks to start with. It takes a while to learn the ropes. This often morphs into a longer stay if both parties are happy. On the agenda at the moment : harvesting, transformation of the harvest so a love of cooking is a definite plus, watering, weeding, mowing. Could be some painting and maintenance work. A hand with the cooking is much appreciated.

    We are located close to some lovely beaches and only a 30 minute drive to cross the Loire and find yourself in South Brittany. Nantes is 50 kms to the east. The cycle to the coast is about 15kms.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Lots of experience and patience in teaching and helping beginners to learn.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We provide a large room in the main house which is insulated and heated. Shared bathroom and toilet. All meals and drinks (within reason!) are provided.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Helpers usually come via Nantes airport or Nantes railway station which is about 45 minutes drive from home. When possible, we try to encourage the use the bus services to nearby villages from Nantes and we pick you up from there. It may be possible to organise the loan of a car occasionally to allow the volunteers to visit the surrounding area. Plenty of bikes, not electric though!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Our internet connection is constant but can be unreliable. I wouldn't recommend it for someone looking to do online meetings.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    The property is large and I have already accommodated helpers with a campervan.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours maximum

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)




































Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 118135342545