Help needed with a natural cob building project using traditional mud bricks + recycled materials in Cherven, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgária

atualizado  

Favorito 293 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    29/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    212

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    As the heat of summer begins to recede work has started on a project to turn an existing balcony into an indoor winter garden space. I will be using a traditional natural building method in Bulgaria of infilling a wooden framework with old recycled mud and straw bricks ( known as karpitch ). These will then be covered with a mud/clay plaster. I have been collecting old wooden doors and windows to use on this project and am currently cleaning them up to be ready for repainting.

    Other late summer tasks include harvesting, preserving, and preparing winter wood.

    My name is Carol and I am originally from Scotland. In 2006 I came to Cherven for a short holiday and left 6 days later having put a deposit down to buy the old abandoned property on the outskirts of the village. Cherven is situated in the Rusenski Lom Natural Park and is 35 kilometers south west of Ruse. Within 2 years I had given up my old life of working 9-5 and reinvented myself as a "quasi peasant" . I grow a lot of vegetables ( organically ), keep chickens and rabbits, have a dog and cats.

    I enjoy having working guests come to stay and to share this beautiful spot with magnificent views.

    There is always plenty to do including for example, clearing land, weeding, planting, harvesting, making compost bins, basic building, including working with mud and straw ( cob building ).

    There are always lots of ongoing projects which are often weather dependent and whether you have the skills or not to help take them forward.

    There are guest bedrooms in the upstairs part of my house, which is now a 100 years old and was built with mud and straw bricks. There is also plenty of land for camping. I have 2 tipis which will be erected once the poles are prepared. Good wholesome food is provided and there is excellent wifi access.

    I am particularly interested in people who enjoy land work and gardening and/or who have basic building trade skills but have generally found that everyone has something to contribute.

    I am flexible in terms of tasks and time input and we can agree what would work for both of us.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Opportunity to experience life in a rural Bulgarian village. Develop skills in food growing, sustainable living, building with natural materials.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Gardening/ land help, basic building, DIY and renovation

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Bulgarian: Intermediário
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Rooms with comfortable beds and there is plenty of land for camping if you are travelling with a tent and prefer to sleep in it

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Cherven is situated in the Russenski Lom Natural Park and is well known in Bulgaria for its medieval ruins, caves and rock churches. There are lovely walks in and around the village. There is a post office, a library and a general store with a bar in the centre of the village and also a cafe/bar by the river at the foot of the medieval attraction. The nearest ATM accessible by public transport is in Ruse: our nearest city ( 35 kms to the north east ). There are two buses a day to and from Ruse which has a very large and beautiful central square area which is known as "Little Vienna", because of its layout and architecture. A great place to hang out on days off people watching from the numerous pavement cafes. It is also possible to take a trip to Bucharest from Ruse on the Bosphor Express ( a slow train which runs daily between Bucharest and Istanbul ). Bucharest is 60kms from Ruse and there are also direct buses from the airport or the centre to Ruse which can be booked online.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I have a very good internet connection

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day / 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)
















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 000000000254