Peter

  • Hongrie
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (5)

Super Workawayer
Explorer
ID verified
Facebook verified
Email verified

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Les activités qui m'intéressent :

    On an open-ended Big Journey 🌍 traveling freely couch-surfing and volunteering on the way to experience life and meet interesting, inspiring people. 😊

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Schleswig-Holstein, Germany - du Jun 2024 au Aoû 2024
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Hello,

    My name is Peter. I'm from Szeged (Hungary) and I worked as an EU project-manager for almost 15 years. My projects ended in 2023, hence I quit my job, took a leap-of-faith and started my open-ended Big Journey 🌍 in February 2024. 😊

    In the last few years I felt I hit walls both in my professional and private life (I could call it mid-life crisis, but that’s so over-used 😊), so I needed an out. After quitting my job and taking a leap-of-faith I now want to rediscover myself, learn more about who I am and gain some real-world experiences. After spending years in a 9-to-5 job now I need to be outside, closer to nature to refresh my mind and enrich my knowledge outside the office… 🌿

    For 1,5 years I have been hosting travellers on CS, BW and TR in my hometown Szeged. I was lucky to meet interesting, like-minded wanderers, exchange travel stories and grow my bucket-list. I really enjoyed showing my guests my city and taking them to my favourite rooftop bar to see the sunset or a small pub with live music...

    In February 2024 I myself grabbed my backpack and started travelling freely couch-surfing and volunteering on the way to experience life and meet interesting, inspiring people. I sincerely believe that couch-surfing and volunteering will provide great opportunities by bringing me into contact with people from whom I can learn and make friends with anywhere I go.

    I'm independent, tidy and easy to get along with. I tend to be sociable but I also like quiet moments. I will be curious about the life you live and will also be happy to take my independent free-time by myself.
    I have to admit that I’m not a ‘kitchen person’, but I want to grow in this aspect as well, so I‘ll gladly cook a local dish with you, help you bake bread or take care of the garden.

    I only started volunteering, so most likely everything will still be a ‘first’ for me - sorry. 😊 I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty and I’m eager to try out and learn new things, so I hope I could be of use to you too if you need a helping hand around the house and garden. 😊

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Musique
    Histoire
    Photographie
    Randonnée
    Dev. durable
    Animaux de compagnie
    Montagne
    Jardinage
    Vidéographie
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Activités en plein air
    Cyclisme
    Culture
    Sports d'aventure
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hungarian: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Éco-projets
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
    Travail associatif
    Projets artistiques
    Aider dans une ferme

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aider à la maison
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Kaina, Crete (April-May 2024):
    Various general woodworking and gardening help on a farm with other volunteers. We cleared stones and leveled the ground for a big tent. We built the wooden part of a compost toilet from a wooden pallet, leftover planks and green plastic mesh. We removed stones as well as weeds & plants from footpaths and covered the paths with straw so one could walk them barefoot. We planted trees. Turned a wooden pallet into garden furniture by sanding and glazing. Made a raised garden-bed from straw-bales. Filled it and a stone-rimmed raised garden-bed with sheep dung and soil. Cleared stones and vegetation with pickaxe and shovel for a chicken coop and foundation of a yoga platform.

    Agios Nikolaos, Crete (April 2024):
    My host wanted to make a drip watering system for her trees (~20) in the garden that also kept the ground moist for longer. After loosening up the rocky soil with a pickaxe, I laid large cardboard sheets on the ground and weighed them down with rocks, then covered them with straw and plant clippings (the watering system itself was made by a professional). I also did some weeding of a rock garden and cleared out a flower patch.

    Sision, Crete (March-April 2024):
    I was helping open up an Irish bar at a new place, so I tried out myself with various DIY and remodelling tasks: I plastered and corrected smaller surface imperfections. I filled gaps with cement and broke concrete with an impact drill. I painted walls with brush and paint roller and glazed wood, etc.

    Zaros, Crete (March 2024):
    I helped around the house and garden as well as the olive fields. I helped cut the floor planks to size and fix them in the soon-to-be yoga room. Made a stone path in the garden. Collected and bagged rubble and all kinds of things from a back yard and took it to the waste yard. Made a sprinkling system for the olive trees in the fields. Burnt the dry olive branches.

    Back at home before I started off on my Big Journey:
    - I have a friend who inherited an old mud-brick house and garden. From time to time, I helped him with all kinds of repair stuff like painting, fence-building or dismantling an old, unused pigsty.
    - I didn’t have a garden myself, but I also helped my friend with weeding and tending his garden. However I will ask to make sure which plants I shouldn’t pluck. 😊
    - I helped other friends with repairing a roof and tiles. I'm not afraid of heights and I'm confident on the ladder and rooftop beams.
    - I did DIY and feel fairly comfortable with power tools.
    - I used to do airplane and railroad modelling 😊, so I believe I have a knack for accurate and meticulous work and details.
    - I enjoy taking pictures with my camera. Maybe it's because I'm old and started photography on film, for me a camera is about pictures and not video. However I'm interested in learning videography and video-editing as well and maybe try out vlogging during my Big Journey. 😊

  • Âge

    42

  • Autres infos...

    Even before setting out I preferred to spend my free time outside: running, cycling, backpacking, hiking, via ferrata and everything related to mountains, city visits, local cuisine and drinks…
    When I wasn't outside, I watched documentaries and travel vlogs, daydreaming about the places I'll myself visit.

    Most of the time I listen to electronic music (trance, goa, psy trance, oldschool hardcore and rave, etc.), but I'm open to other kind of music as well - jazz and lounge, ska, nordic rock...

    I like sci-fi, fantasy and steampunk films and books, however can't find the time to immerse myself into new worlds as much as I would. I haven't even seen one episode from Game of Thrones - shame on me I know! :-)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback