English language teaching asistant in Los Lagos, Chile



Enregistré comme favori 139 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

  • Description


    Hi , my name is Drake. I am 5 years old and I go to school in Los Lagos, a rural town of 10,000 people, 50km from Valdivia, Región de Los Ríos, Chile. We are looking for a native English speaking volunteers to help our teachers and my buddies learn very basic English and pronounce words correctly. Please contact my Daddy (Glynn) if you are interested to come and help us. We need volunteers during the teaching periods from March until December .
    Tia Melissa is the head teacher and owner of the school. She will be organising your daily routine. She speaks very good English and spent six months in the USA. Apart from Melissa , the other teachers and students speak very little English. You will need at a some understanding of Spanish to be able to communicate at a basic level with the teachers and students. It would be preferable if you have teaching or TEFL qualification and be able to plan you own lessons. It could be a very rewarding experience for the right sort of person. We can only take on one volunteer at a time, and ideally staying for at least one semester to get time to know the students and my teachers.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My Daddy says it is a great opportunity to live, see and interact with my teachers and my classmates in a small rural Chilean town. You will be very much immersing yourself into Chilean life and culture.

  • Aide


    We need help with English language teaching to nursery and primary school children. There are two schools. My school is the pre-school (3-5 year olds) and is in the town of Los Lagos. It has 73 students and 4 teachers. You can walk to get here .
    The primary school (5 - 12 year olds) in the countryside 10km from Los Lagos and a bus is available for transport. It has 36 students and 5 teachers.
    You will be helping classes of 10 - 15 students along with a teacher and a teaching assistant (a student teacher). Tia Melissa has lots of English teaching material available. The English taught will be at a very basic level. The main objective is to help us with good pronunciation, basic words and sentences and stimulate interest in learning English.
    So if you can help us with this project it would be a great benefit to the local community.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

  • Hébergement


    The accommodation is with Señora Marta and don Heriberto, the parents of the tia Melissa.. There is a cook that will provide meals for the volunteers. There is a private bedrooms and a bathroom available on the second floor of the house for the use of the volunteer. Señora Marta and don Heriberto live on the first floor. Tia Melissa`s parents do not speak English.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Los Lagos is situated on Rio San Pedro in very beautiful coutryside, with lots of native bush. The region is famous for its rivers, lakes, mountains and volcanoes. Valdivia, is a 45 minute bus ride away. It is a popular tourist destination with a colourful fish and vegetable market attended by many visitors including sea lions and pelicans. Niebla is on the coast from Valdivia and has historic forts that can be visited by ferry boat. Pucon is a great place to visit for a long weekend and you may like to climb Volcan Villarica. Maybe one weekend you would like to come to see our dairy farm and I can show you around to see our cows , calves, chickens, dogs and cats. My daddy, Glynn is English and my mummy Eve, is Chilean, and I have a baby sister Constanza. We could go and visit one of the lakes or towns nearby.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 978826633561