Help with gardening and share a healthy and fun lifestyle in Munster, Ireland



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 229 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    I have lived in this wonderfully peaceful and magical place with my family for 32 years, and I really enjoy sharing it with others. My grown up son lives in the UK and visits often with his friends. I am a retired psychotherapist and have an interest in yoga, meditation, drama, painting, reiki and ecological issues. I enjoy cooking , especially vegan and vegetarian dishes. We also eat meat and fish. We have a very productive organic vegetable garden so produce is fresh and plentiful. I have lots of wonderful friends locally and they enjoy meeting our volunteers. Belonging to a community is very important to me and I involve myself with the local artistic and drama community.
    However community activity has been severely restricted due to the pandemic. There are wonderful hiking opportunities can still be availed of.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Workayers can enjoy involvement with our family , friends and community, sharing a healthy and fun lifestyle. This could include sharing yoga and meditation practice, cooking, learning about growing food organically a
    . Sadly the possibly involvement in local drama and art projects, and historic walking tours are suspended due to the pandemic. There are great local walks as well as some outings to local attractions. We are located 2 miles from the historic and literary village of Doneraile. It has so much to offer, a 400 acre wildlife park and historic house, a 9 hole golf course , playing fields, wonderful cafes and pubs and a newly opened art gallery. Hopefully these will be able to open in the summer. Check out Doneraile Estate and facebook page doneraile online. While this will be my second year to host workaways I have been a wwoofing host for many years and really enjoyed getting to know many wonderful volunteers over the years. Many of them have become involved in various community activities including taking roles in a short film and becoming historic characters in our local guided pressure of course! I belong to a theatre group in Cork and I am a volunteer gardener once a week in the iconic Blarney castle gardens. Our wwoofers have very much enjoyed joining me on trips to blarney and to Cork. We are quite near the Ballyhoura Mountain park, it has wonderful hiking and mountain biking trails.

  • Aide


    We like workawyers to make a minimum commitment of 4 weeks. This can be extended if circumstances allow.

    The help required is varied, mainly help in the garden. We grow vegetables organically for our own consumption. These need to be sown, transplanted, weeded, watered and harvested. We also require help with restoring and maintaining some woodland, chopping and stacking logs, planting a hedgerow and some tree planting. I plan to plant a wildflower meadow this year and repair stone old stone walls.
    We also need help with maintenance tasks such as painting, building some simple structures and general repairs. I would also be interested to hear from someone who is artistic with an interest in wood sculpture. I would love to carve some tree stumps but dont have the skill.

    It is really important that workawayers are very respectful of current government covid 19 guidelines with regard to cross contamination and observe stringent hygiene practices.
    At the moment I only accept workawayers who are already established in Ireland as I am in a vulnerable age category with regard to covid.

    It is also important that workawayers are able to cook for themselves as generally speaking i only cook some meals for people .

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Sharing a room in a seperate apartment within the house, volunteers have a seperate kitchen and yoga/sitting room.

    However in the current circumstances of covid 19 we have fewer volunteers so each person has a room with shower to themselves.
    There is a shared bathroom.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are situated 3 kilometers from the local village of Doneraile in north Cork which boasts many literary and historic links. It has a magnificent parkland desemne laid out in the Capability Brown style.. It has a vibrant artistic cultural life.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Our internet connection is reasonably good most of the time. However in stormy weather I leave it unplugged as we are subject flower cuts .

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. I like to have a flexible approach maybe some weeks work the hours over 4 days and have 3 days off

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 947532646491