Besoin d'aide avec mon jardin bio et un projet de jardin-forêt à West Cork, Irlande



Enregistré comme favori 149 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    89.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    Hello there and welcome to my eco friendly timber frame house in the heart of West Cork, about 2 mins drive from Dunmanway town. I have two adult children who have left home and live on my own these days with my cat Gizmo. We also host a beehive 🐝 they are looked after by a local man.
    I would like some help with my half acre permaculture project, forest, organic fruit, veg and herb garden and some DIY maintenance of my poly tunnel, sheds and raised beds.
    I love to share and exchange cooking healthy meals, mainly vegetarian using my own produce where possible and can cater for vegans.
    My mum was a chef in Germany in the fifties, which has influenced my cooking together with my study of Macrobiotics and the Chinese Five Element Principles back in the nineties.
    I work mostly from home as a therapist and may disappear into my treatment room for the odd session. Depending on Covid restrictions I may teach a few local Yoga classes and you can join me if you wish or stay at home with Gizmo.
    I have lots of books to look at, mostly in English, some in German and plenty board games for wet evenings, also love arts and crafts, always something in the making... and maybe skills to share? And stories...

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I speak fluent English and German so there will be plenty opportunity to practice your language skills.

    Learn about medicinal herbs for teas, oils and ointments, foraging, food for medicine.

    Learn about regenerative organic gardening and working with the land and the seasons.

    Join me in my daily yoga and Do-In practice or at my Yoga classes only if you like of course.

    Get to know the locals, depending on covid restrictions in pubs, at local music gigs or at my yoga classes

  • Aide


    Help in my 1/4 acre organic permaculture garden and polytunnel with regenerating soil microbes and fungi, composting, fertilizing brews, green manures, mulching, weeding, mostly no dig and a few raised beds, planting, harvesting and preserving, fruit, veggies and herbs for home use, I make oils and ointments from my own dried herbs, a great variety of tasks, all depending on the season.

    Help with extending my forest garden and ornamental wild flower garden with spiral/labyrinth.

    Help with general outdoor maintenance for existing flowerbeds, grass cutting and strimming.

    DIY maintenance with a few outdoor painting jobs and small repair jobs (raised beds and compost surrounds).

    Help with website and social media maintenance.

    We will also share doing the daily chores around the house.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    You will be sharing my eco-friendly timber frame house with me and my cat Gizmo (although he is used to staying outside most of the time)
    I have two small and basic spare bedrooms, one with a double matrass/futon and the other with a single bed, shared bathroom with flush toilet, bathtub and shower (heated by solar panel and solid fuel in the winter months).
    We also share the living area and kitchen. I will provide food and produce, and we can share some of the cooking if you like. My house is clean, warm, bright and spacious.
    I have good mobile reception and use my phone to hotspot my PC and laptop for Zoom/Skype meetings and to watch the odd movie/documentary/TV show. I don't have any WIFI as there is no fibre connection to my house on top of the hill.
    My house is 2 mins drive away from Dunmanway, (20 mins down town and 30 mins up home by foot). You can also borrow one of my two bicycles.
    Dunmanway has bus connections to Cork city and Bantry/Glengarriff.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Get to know surrounding areas on foot, bicycle or by bus during your time off.

    If you wish you may join me to visit local markets and towns, and occasionally castles, lakes and other nearby scenic attractions, like the Gearagh, Gougane Barra, Glengarriff/Kilmurry Woods or the local beaches.

    During the summer/autumn I like to go swimming in the sea (about half an hours drive away) or in the river pools and you can join me if you like. Dunmanway also has an indoor 25m swimming pool including steam room, sauna hydrotherapy and kiddies pool.

    The Camino de Cork, the two day St Finbarr's Pilgrimage is practically on our doorstep starting in the nearby Drimoleague, Top of the Rock to Gougane Barra (ca 30k). I can drop you off there if that's your idea of spending a weekend.

    Although I am new to Workaway, I've had positive experiences with hosting wonderful volunteers through another website for a number of years prior to Covid.

    You may have heard of our rainy Irish weather, so please don't forget to bring raingear and wellies or good sturdy boots. And some work gloves for the garden work would be very helpful.

    Please let me know if you have any specific requirements regarding food intolerances, allergies etc

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have a gravelled yard with plenty room for any size camper van.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 899537719819