Help on our property in east coast of Ireland, Wicklow, South of Dublin

Country

Irlande

Enregistré comme favori 95 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.10.2021

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are located on the east coast of Ireland, in County Wicklow which is called "the garden or Ireland". Our house is in a valley (Vale of Avoca), in the middle of a woodland area. The site is 2 acres in total and is constant work in progress: wood to gather, to cut, to tidy, weeding, planting, pruning, seeding, harvesting...
    There are lots of ruins around the house which dates from early 1800's. We arrived here 10 years ago. We have completely renovated our house with original material and a wooden extension (with a cute green roof). For the last 3 years we have been tackling phase 2 of our project which is animals, orchard, vegetables, etc. We are managing the land organically, it is a mature land. I am passionate of permaculture and currently am studying horticulture on top of my job to work in edible landscape design. With us you will learn about animals, growing food, permaculture, cooking, preserving, and you will discover a beautiful region and community. We are a family of 5, the children are aged 22, 15 and 13, a boy and 2 girls. John (my partner) is working away most of the time and I am working part time as a wild food forager for a local restaurant. The rest of the time I am at home, taking care of the house, the garden, and the children of course. Our son is a student and lives in Dublin. I have started horticultural studies and I try and study as much as possible in my spare time. John is Irish and I am French, we are a bilingual family. We have a dog , three cats in the house. We have also have hens and guinea fowls. Accomodation for our helpers is brand new insulated , self contained and comfortable wooden cabin . Please ask for any other info :-)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    you will learn about wood (managing wood for wood stoves), permaculture, growing food, medicinal and culinary herbs , taking care of poultry, cooking and preserving fresh food. Ireland is a wonderful country (I can say this especially that I am French!!) and this region is beautiful, with hills and woodlands and the sea. We are not far from Dublin which makes it easy to go for day or week end trips.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    for now we are essentially looking for somebody to come between second half of April and end of May, to stay with us for 2/3 weeks for the busy vegetable garden time (planting, hardening off, etc). If you have skills in building (stone walls, masonry), there is a need for you all year round (well, maybe not winter)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    accomodation is in a wooden cabin, self contained and with all comfort, although meals are shared with the family

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 363586329228