Venez nous aider dans notre ferme à Oamaru en Nouvelle-Zélande

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

Enregistré comme favori 56 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    07.05.2021

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a family owned farm run by myself Carrie, my husband Gibby and our son, our daughter lives close by and also works in agriculture. We are 40 minutes from the seaside town of Oamaru.
    We breed sheep for wool and meat. Usually about 5000 sheep and 160 Angus cattle. Our livestock are free range and antibiotic free.
    We like WORKAWAYERS to help with HOUSEHOLD tasks, GARDENING, and we like showing workawayers how we care for our animals and the land. We produce as much of our own meat, vegetables and fruit as we can.
    Workawayers will learn about harvesting, cooking and perserving fruit and vegetables.
    The time of year depends on what we will be doing. We like workawayers to take part in whatever is going on on the farm.
    There are different animal husbandry jobs at different times of year that workawayers can take part in.
    Some times volunteers will just be going along assisting Gibby opening gates and maybe chasing sheep.
    I also breed small dogs and there is often puppies to cuddle and help with. Workawayers must like dogs!
    We have a large team of working sheep dogs as well. Previous overseas helpers have enjoyed watching the sheep dogs work.
    We enjoy the company and conversation with volunteers and of coarse I like them helping me catch up on the gardening and helping me with cooking.
    There are some interesting Geological attractions such as Elephant rocks, Sea creature fossils, not far from Moraki boulders, an hour and half drive to Lake Pukaki and Mt Cook, Penguin viewing in Oamaru and Alps to Ocean cycle trail close by are just a few points of interest.

    I prefer female helpers most of the time as I like the company at home when Gibby is away on the farm for long hours, and usually have workawayers stay 2-3 weeks at most.
    Summer is a busy time with vegetable garden, lawns and animals to care for. Always allot to do with sheep if you are looking for some sheep experience.
    I PREFER FEMALE AND FOR ONLY TWO WEEKS.
    PLEASE JUST READ PROFILE BEFORE SENDING ME A REQUEST!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We will show you all about a working sheep farm in New Zealand and how we care for our animals and land. We also teach about growing and harvesting food. We treat workawayer like part of the family and make them feel very welcome.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We like our volunteers to take part in whatever is going on on our farm. We will teach you what is required. No specific skills are needed. But you must like dogs and not mind getting your hands dirty and trying new things. I like some help with gardening and cooking

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    we have a separate sleepout as well as a room in the house, meals with the family but we DO NOT ACCOMMODATE VEGETARIANS as we raise animals to eat

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are many local attractions, nice climate and I can pick up volunteers from bus stop in Oamaru if they don't have a car. It is very peaceful and quiet where we are with beautiful scenery. Oamaru is 40 minutes away with historical buildings and penguin viewing. Mt Cook is an hour and a half away. Alps to Ocean cycle trail is near by. Daily walks with the dogs is always enjoyed.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 889534653633