Vegan regenerative smallholding in peaceful mountain location in Oleiros, Portugal

  • Enregistré comme favori 21 fois
  • Activité récente: 4 avr. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    We are a family from the UK recently resettled in the mountains of Central Portugal. Phen, Victoria, our daughter Aurelia and our recently adopted dog, Maxi. We are compassionate vegans and life long learners with a passion for travel, adventure and connection with all life has to offer. We are renovating stone buildings and regenerating one hectare of terraced pine forest. The aim is to leave a legacy of trees and healthy soil and to provide a space where humans can co-create, share, enjoy and connect.

    Our skills and interests include professional cookery (wild food foraging, fermentation, sourdough baking, food innovation); veganic permaculture (methods of soil cultivation, regenerative perspective, a desire to meet the more than human world); alternative education and coaching (Steiner Waldorf, unschooling, outdoor and democratic learning spaces); D.I.Y. (bodging and troubleshooting a myriad of challenges using skills as yet unknown to us... e.g. carpentry, plumbing, stone masonry, tiling, rendering, natural building etc); TEFL; Arts and Crafts (painting techniques, natural dyeing, sewing, knitting, storytelling, poetry); life values (philosophy, ethics, spirituality, roots).

    Victoria has volunteered in a number of projects ranging from social and political to ecological over the years, the value of which has contributed massively to her world view and life journey. We welcome the chance to share our skills and space as an exchange for the help we need to realise our legacy.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Skill share (see list in the description above).
    Insight into rural Portuguese life.
    Opportunity to spend time living a simple life in a remote and unpopulated area surrounded by mountains, rivers and trees.
    Connection to local activities (markets, hiking, cycling, canoeing, rock climbing).
    Seasonal fruit and olive harvesting, preservation methods.
    Learn more about compassionate vegan living.

  • Aide


    There are two main areas we need help with:
    1. Clearing and maintaining our land so that it is fire safe and to invest in the development of a regenerative approach. This could include moving forest material around, strimming, mulching, creating new soil beds, planting out, watering etc.
    2. Supporting building renovation projects. This could include helping to move materials around, sharing relevant skills, help troubleshooting.
    Other types of help depend upon your interests and skillset!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant
    Indonesian: Débutant
    Portugais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Victoria is a qualified TEFL teacher with several years of experience teaching. We enjoy learning new languages, especially of course Portuguese.

  • Hébergement


    A simple but cosy off-grid, self built campervan. A double bed, ample storage, fridge, hob and oven, compost loo, shower. Amazing views!
    All food is provided (breakfast items in the van, other meals communally).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our home and land is a vegan and conscious space, free from the use of animal products, smoking, alcohol or recreational drug consumption. We ask all visitors to honour this, please check with us if you have any questions about exactly what this means for your stay. We would love to welcome people who have already chosen a similar path, or people who are interested to experience life through this lens. If vegan teetotal life sounds too intense / limiting this may not be the right kind of experience for you... if it sounds daunting but interesting, we'd love to support you.
    We have an off grid water supply meaning that water usage is at a premium and visitors must be conscious of this at all times.
    We welcome open and honest communication a positive attitude and an appropriate approach towards children. We are happy to negotiate terms and to support visitors to experience a slice of our life.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have good access to 4G network and use an unlimited connection via Vodaphone to create a WiFi hotspot. I have used this effectively to make Zoom calls etc but of course this might not be suitable for someone who needs greater reliability, speed or bandwidth.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a 'flat zone' which could be suitable for a campervan, maximum long wheelbase. A motorhome might be too large and a caravan would not work.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 878971816614


Help to build an Earth Bag Home in Sintra, Portugal
Come and join a retired couple in Serta- Coimbra and Center, Portugal