Besoin d'aide pour la construction d'un lieu de retraite à Ste-Euphemie, Quebec, Canada

  • Canada
  • Enregistré comme favori 62 fois
  • Activité récente: 30 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    Small is beautiful! This is a small-scale project, very personal, non-profit, and in the woods!

    ***version française sur demande, avec plaisir***

    I'm building a new house intended to be a friendly place of silence and meditation on the wooden lot where I've lived for 20 years. I used to live in an off-grid cabin (without running water or electricity), near a nice stream, and that's where workawayers stay (main photo)

    The new building is up and I've been working on it for over a year, now I'm into painting and finishing carpentry. There's also the garden to take care of and various other outdoor jobs.

    I've had great experiences with Workaway so far! Still, I came to realize that fantastic as it can be, hosting takes me time and energy and in the present conditions, I can only host helpers who are quite fit physically and mentally, careful and respectful of the material and instructions, and truly interested in meditation/silent retreats.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Living in the woods here is quite special, in the good sense for those who like it - much about simplicity and self-sustainability. Then, if you're interested in mindfulness, any work is an opportunity to learn and practice! If you like we can sit together daily... And of course if you want to "learn" meditation I'm happy to share my modest experience.

  • Aide


    Help with the cooking would be most welcome. I often need an extra hand with the construction, but it's difficult for me to make a fixed schedule with that. Gardening, cleaning... Of course it depends on what and how much you're willing to do.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Anglais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I also speak some Spanish, Rumanian and Mandarin Chinese (it seems the site won't save them...) I won't have much time to dedicate to learning but I like to play around with languages. You will definitely be in a French environment here, and I can speak slowly and be patient if you're willing to learn.

  • Hébergement


    Helpers usually like to stay in my old cabin, with basic conditions: outdoor toilets, a solar panel and a spring nearby. There's a basic camping-like shower inside. You have to know I'm quite fussy about things there, if you're interested i'll be happy to send you details.
    Electricity and running water at the new building and wifi and a washing machine and shower. If you prefer to stay there it would have to be discussed as I start working very early in the morning.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is a nice walk along the stream and cascades close by, then there are hiking trails about 20 km away. Besides not many leisure activity:) Public transportation is limited but exists. You can use a bicycle but it's quite hilly around here. I should be able to pick you up in Montmagny or Levis for your arrival and drive you there when you leave.

    The only internet at the cabin is via iPhone and only one company has a really good network here but Wifi is available at the new building nearby.

    More about me: I practice mindfulness/buddhist/zen meditation. I'm very down-to-earth, more inspired by nature and science than religious rituals, although I enjoy discussing religions, philo and psychology as well. I'm not vegetarian but I'll be happy with a veg diet if it's easier. IMPORTANT: I don't drink alcool or do other intoxicants and I'm not comfortable with much substance abuse at my place ( VERY moderate use ok). Please do respect this and simply not apply if you're a daily alcohol or drug user.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Problem is, my old dog is quite grumpy... but it can be managed as there's enough space.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week, but staying at the cabin as such involves extra work such as bringing wood and water in daily... Hoping you can participate in meal preparation on your days off, too, if you're around- or cater your yourself.

N° de référence hôte : 871965543247

Feedback (4)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Aidez nous dans nos hébergements insolites perchés en foret - Quebec Canada
Learn about forestry and hardscaping, helping us to get our home and land ready in Maple Ridge, Canada