Help at out-of-the-box farm-equestrian centre in Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 195 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I'm Nidia (Portuguese, 40 years old )
    I'm running a holistic farm and equestrian centre close to Vila do Bispo, Algarve; I live with horses, dogs, cats, chickens, pigs, geese and a donkey, all free-ranging and happy.

    My aim is to transform the farm into a place where people can find their inner peace through silence, handwork, harmony and connection with nature, in order to allow a deep self-healing process. My goal now is studying hippotherapy, since I have spent all my life with these wonderful animals, mainly as a professional horse ride instructor and guide, although In the last years I have been more and more focusing on teaching children.

    The farm is 1 acre and there is a lake and an organic garden, it is quite isolated in an open, beautiful landscape 2km away from the north coast, the south coast and from the village: wind, silence, wildlife.
    I'm completely off-grid: there is no mains water, so is fundamental to save it and volunteers will buy their water to drink. One of the actual projects is to build a hot water system to have a hot shower at home and in the space dedicated to volunteers; there is a mechanic washing machine (made from a bike) that everyone can use for free (using exclusively natural soap). There is solar energy just for electricity and charge devices (pc, mobile..).

    Volunteers will help cleaning up horses' dung, taking care of the garden, build and rebuild mainly wooden structures.

    Since we cannot provide food, we ask to work 3 hours per day, 5 days a week. It is necessary to be flexible with the daily working schedule in the rare case I need to leave the farm for a couple of days - I'm also flexible about your eventual necessity! I ONLY ACCEPT VOLUNTEERS THAT STAY A MINIMUM OF 3 WEEKS.

    Volunteers will stay in a wooden cabin or in my tent, using an independent kitchen and dry toilet. It is required to maintain this space tidy and clean. These facilities are placed in the opposite corner from the main house where I live, so you can enjoy your privacy and me also! I don't have time to have a meal together, and I aspect persons to respect the privacy of my home.

    We suggest coming to adult persons (independently from the age): it means to be independent, self-sufficient, well organize, emotionally balanced, with a high level of consciousness (with a natural attitude to take care of any space, to be respectful with all living beings, to be aware that we are all connected). This farm is not a place where volunteers can have parties, is a different kind of space, more intimate. Please contact me if you are really interested in help, work hard (sometimes) and learn.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    live with animals is always a great source of knowledge, they can teach us everything we need to be happy!
    We can show how to take care of horses in daily life, how to manage dogs with behavioural problems and solve it, how to fix structures with no tools, teach the portuguese language, how to cook some typical dishes, to dance neo tango...and everything else I know I will be happy to share!

    let's also say that this area is the less polluted in all Europe.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The main help we need is about:

    - gardening (water almost everyday during the summer)
    - animals' care (feed 2 at 3 times a day, give water ecc)
    - collect dung around
    - take care of the farm if I'm out

    more but not essential:
    - build up some facilities in a natural building system (dry toilet, hot water system...)
    - fix structures that horses enjoy to destroy.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Portugais: Courant
    Italien: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    1 wooden cabin: with a double bed.
    1 single tent
    1 tent for 4 persons

    In this area there is a compost toilet, a kitchen and a cold shower. The bottle of gas used in the kitchen to prepare your meals should be paid from the volunteers (it cost around 30 euro and it lasts for 1 month or more).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Volunteer can surf, walk in the nature, go to the village (for internet and shops) pet the 10 dogs and go walking with them, visit interesting places here around, swim in the lake, pet the horses, relax as they prefere..

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    pets are welcome if they are well educated since other animals are free-ranging into the farm (don't bark too much, don't attack the chickens, don't run after the horses, don't be aggressive this cats and dogs). Also, the owner should clean diary the metabolic rest of his/her pet.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week





N° de référence hôte : 841617464188