Help my beloved see the world through your eyes and journeys - and help him keep on living to the full wherever possible! Owaka, New Zealand



Enregistré comme favori 72 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

  • Description


    Robin is overcoming daily Parkinson's but refuses to allow this to stop him from living - we have paid staff who helps him with his basic physical needs - you would not be doing their work. Your interactions with Robin will allow him to see and explore the world through your eyes and the things you have seen. Being prepared to chat with Robin about your travels is a must. Robin loves his garden and building and is excited to be able to do more thanks to the helpers through "WorkAway". Cyndilu works in graphic design and the online world as well as gives simple computer lessons and basic tutoring to locals. Cyndilu is also a speaker/singer and can be found on a stage singing in a musical and she is currently working on writing a couple of books. We are both pretty easy going most of the time. Since I grew up in America and Robin here you will get two cultures mashed into a culture of our own. We love God and serve our community through a Saturday Evening Meal and Music with Praise Prayer and Scripture Readings and Discussions - this is held in a church/community building in Owaka as of the writing of these details. This meeting is an optional cultural experience for you, so sharing it here so you know where we will be every Saturday evening!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Robin was born and raised in the South Otago area - he loves to take people to the beach at Surat bay and introduce them to the sealions and a beautiful long beach walk too. He loves to go and get shellfish from our local coastal area too. There are many beautiful short or day walks in the Catlins - waterfalls and other things which he loves to share with anyone that comes to stay with us. See the more about us to learn a bit more of Robin's travels.
    Cyndilu was born and raised in New England USA and also lived and went to school for a couple of years in Arizona the Southwest USA (Born Connecticut, Primary School Years in southern New Hampshire in a small city, Secondary School Years in Central Vermont small town lived way out in the country, University in Arizona for Graphic Design). Cyndilu has also been to Peurto Rico and done a short missions trip to Peru.
    The coming together of our two cultures and lives have a richness that is not found in many other Kiwi homes. It is a mashup of the two cultures and we can fill you in on the things that you may need to know... like when someone invites you for Tea - it is generally the evening meal that they are inviting you to and not a cuppa tea! And a biscuit here is a cooking in the USA where a scone here we would have called a biscuit... It is a fun experience to learn about other people and to see that we can love one another through our differences is one of the things we share with all who come through our home.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Gardening: everything from starting seedlings - to harvesting - to preparing soil - getting compost and whatever else happens with a garden - Robin is the one who will let us know what is the current need in the gardens (we have mostly veggie and some floral plants) Robin has a love for berries and is working on a plan to grow some less known plants to help feed New Zealand's communities.

    Elderly/Care - Other(Parkinsons): Robin is a pretty active dude for someone who has Parkinsons so having people that can drive him to do activities that are beyond what the carer support team is able to do would be great! Robin is very curious and loves learning about the world - so a good portion of your day could be answering questions and sharing about your journeys and where they have taken you. Be sure to ask him about his too. He has working in UK, traveled around Europe a bit too, studied, worked and lived and in the USA for a total of more than 30 years too.
    Help with Computers/Internet: Robin at times could use someone to do his typing for him on the computer for facebook, messenger, google searches, youtube and even a bit of trademe and ebay exploration. Cyndilu primarily works online so any knowledge you have that could help her speed up her learning curve for Internet marketing, web pages, blogging or the like would be welcome.
    Building: Being married to a builder who has Parkinsons can be a challenge - the ideas come faster than his hands are able to work... So if you like to do building or are wiling to learn some carpentry tricks Robin is ready to share his knowledge with you and will walk you through the projects he has here there and everywhere.
    Cooking/Shopping: We are not 100% vegetarians but lean towards that kind of cooking. We are a mostly Gluten Free and Dairy Free house (again not 100% - but we feel better the less we eat of it!) So if you know how to cook that way we are ready to learn from you! We have only started eating this way in 2017. There is a local grocery store and we may have you go down and pick up a few things to go with our meals and/or accompanying Cyndilu or Robin to do the grocery shops would be welcome also.
    General Maintenance: Basics of maintaining a house, garden, and vehicle - tell us what your specialties are and we can let you know if we have any of those projects around... Let us know what maintenance things you love to do - you know like refurbishing things or doing a full maintenance on something. ie. Sewing machines have a maintenance schedule but most people don't even know about that let alone do it. So you share with us your knowledge of things that need regular maintenance and if we have that thing in the house, we would love to have you do the 'regular' stuff that might otherwise be overlooked.
    Help in the house: Laundry, Luxing - Vacuuming, Dishes, Floors, etc, etc, etc, general cleaning - deep cleaning - organisation all welcome. Generally helping out in the house to get it in order that we can take you exploring the world around us! We love to explore, Cyndilu with a camera in hand and Robin with a desire to share the beauty of his homeland.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Your own room in our home is the current set up. It has a full size bed and a unit for hanging up your clothes. There is a shared closet - we have our off season clothes in there - you would be welcome to use that space also. At present the bathroom and kitchen are all shared spaces.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The Catlins is a beautiful area. Owaka has a wonderful museum $5 last known cost to see it. We live in town limits yet in a section that has more of a country side feel - due to the farmland across the street from our corner lot. We may have a vehicle available for use. You would be expected to put fuel in if using it beyond what we are requesting you to help us with, ie. taking Robin to go see the Falls could be petrol on us - using the vehicle on your off day would be petrol on you. There are so many sights within 1 hour from us they would be too many to list, but I will mention one which is KakaPoint and Nugget Point Lighthouse. Many people travel to that location - the lighthouse is one of the most photographed spots in New Zealand and you may even get the chance to spot a penguin or two if you go there at the right time of the day. There is a penguin watching area where you have access to see them coming in or heading out (usually coming in about 1 hour before sundown) Do a search online to learn more about that.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 835646659222