mis à jour  

Aidez-nous sur la voie de l'autosuffisance, sur les contreforts des Pyrénées françaises, France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 324 fois
  • Activité récente: 26 mars 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Tom (41) is English. In early 2019 he decided to move permanently from his home in England to a 2.7 hectare (6 acre) plot in the foothills of the French Pyrenees; by car roughly an hour South of Toulouse and an hour North of Andorra.

    He is working towards a self sufficient life, with the aim of organically growing food to feed a (future) family and ideally to produce enough energy to heat and light the home off-grid.

    The plot is on the South facing side of a lush green valley overlooking snow capped mountains. There is a small ‘modern’ (1970s) house where Tom lives, with a separate building alongside it that they rent on Airbnb. The terrain is roughly 50% grass / paddock, and 50% woodland. Wild cherry, walnut and plum trees are dotted around and on clear days the sun hits the slope from dawn until dusk.

    The land sits 100m below the pretty mountain village of Roquefixade. The village is well known for it’s ruined castle, (Château de Roquefixade) and steep limestone cliffs that protect it from the Northern weather. In season, the Gite d’Etape in the village serves as a good local restaurant / bar, and the two lovely towns of Lavalenet and Foix are 10km away with many shops, bars, restaurants etc. Both towns have weekly farmers markets selling fresh seasonal produce.

    A young orchard has been planted and a 35ft polytunnel has been erected on a newly landscaped ex-paddock. Crops on two large growing terraces will be cultivated from Spring 2019.

    Tom has a small tractor, chainsaw, mower and building tools; mains water, mains electricity & a good WiFi connection.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The Ariège is one of the least populated and most beautiful areas of France.

    Volunteering at this smallholding offers the chance to spend time in a stunningly beautiful, tranquil space, to experience rural life in France, contribute to (and learn from) a project aiming at self-sufficiency.

    Tom has two cats and a beautiful dog, Manu. Manu is a big fella, at 3 years old he is 50kg, and a total softy. Tom ran a business before the lifestyle change and now heads up the physical aspects of land management. Tom is fun and hardworking, and a fantastic vegetarian cook!

    For lovers of the outdoors, The valley is a perfect place to be. Cyclists, walkers and historians regularly come to explore the area, to visit the castles and lakes, and hike along the valley to nearby Chateau de Montsegur.

    The land is situated such that you are sure to find a private spot in the trees or the paddocks to relax, to read, enjoy a glass of wine or just work on your tan :)

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Tom is looking for autonomous, energetic, handy people who don’t mind very physical tasks, and are happy to get their hands dirty. You will have the chance to learn new skills and help with a variety of projects, including:

    1. Renovation of the home inc. flooring, painting, tiling etc. (Skills preferred but not essential).

    2. Fencing off areas of land to keep in the dog / chickens, using natural Acacia posts and wire mesh.

    3. Basic forest management, including clearing woodland scrub, pruning / planting.

    4. Planning & sowing of seeds in line with the planting schedule. Caring for & harvesting organic crops.

    5. Daily watering of large vegetable patch / garden.

    6. Strimming borders with a petrol powered machine.

    7. Caring for bee hives.

    8. Tending to chickens.

    9. Design and build of a solar shower in one of the paddocks.

    10. Building outdoor tent platforms in the paddock, and landscaping the area.

    11. Building a rough wooden shelter from un-milled wood, for tool & machinery storage.

    12. Fertilising and digging over soil in preparation for crops. Weeding & watering plants regularly.

    13. Helping landscape a grass paddock and erect / decorate 5m bell-tents.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    For a single volunteer (or couple) there is a private, clean & comfortable private double bedroom in the central heated house. There is also a comfortable, private second double bed on a mezzanine area above the living room.

    Your own car, motorbike or bicycle are preferable to see the sights and go to the shops, but for those without Tom can sometimes collect from the airport and provide lifts to the nearby towns when they are going there. Volunteers should be self-reliant and happy to entertain themselves as outside of working hours / meal times as Tom likes his own space.

    There are plenty of opportunities to relax, hike and explore locally on foot in this stunningly beautiful part of France.

    All guests have access to the recently refurbished main house bathroom with a beautiful large ‘Italian-style’ hot shower, double basin and flush toilet.

    You will be offered three vegetarian meals a day:

    08:00-09:00 - A light French breakfast with bread, croissants, fresh coffee / tea etc.
    14:00-15:00 - A hot or cold lunch.
    19:30-20:30pm - A hot main evening meal with wine or beer.

    Tom cooks with fresh, local produce, and values time spent sharing meals. Food is very important to him and guests can expect good quality ingredients prepared to a high standard.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Tom has travelled the world extensively for many years exploring Europe, South America, Africa, the Middle East & Asia. In years gone by he has worked as a volunteer himself so knows what it’s like and hopes to be an excellent host because of that experience!

    Tom is very sociable, but outside working hours appreciates his own space. On days off and in free afternoons volunteers with transport can canoe, swim or wakeboard at the nearby lakes & rivers. The nearest ski lift is less than 30 minutes drive where you can ski and snowboard during winter months. There are numerous trekking / hiking routes nearby, rock climbing and the beautiful town of Foix with great bars and restaurants is just a 15 minute drive from the plot. Barcelona is a 3 hour drive, and you can reach Andorra (for tax free shopping and great skiing) in around an hour.

    Volunteers are asked to help for 25 hours p/week, Monday to Friday; typically starting after breakfast at 9:00am, and finishing before lunch at 2:00pm. Your afternoons will be for you to explore and enjoy the area.

    Where possible volunteers are asked to bring a set of work clothes and suitable footwear for working outside, but Tom has some spare things for people of most sizes!

    Tom still likes to travel, and enjoys an active social life. He also values his time alone. For this reason typically volunteers are accepted for an initial period of 1-2 weeks.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have a decent wifi setup allowing access to data throughout the property and on the terrace. Digital nomads welcome!

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have plenty of space for a camper van at the house, with the possibility for an extension lead to provide electricity & an outdoor tap / sink for water and a temporary outdoor kitchen for cooking.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We have a dog, two cats and chickens. All are very friendly and dogs often visit to play with Manu. Manu is super friendly with all dogs but he is big (50kg). If you have a pet that will fit with this dynamic then they are welcome.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 965869786773

Feedback (15)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

Rejoignez notre petit coin de paradis et donnez-nous un coup de main pour nos projets de jardinage et de construction, Vestra Harg, Suède
Help a musical couple with gardening and DIY in Aquitaine, France