mis à jour   Last minute

Live a sustainable lifestyle with a family in the beautiful Mountains of Santa Barbara, California, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 1035 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    If you think you are a really good fit for us and you, please feel free to contact to see if it is a good time. We’ve noticed that people who don’t mark that they are vegetarian or vegan sometimes don’t tend to stick around as long. We’ve had over 60 people from Workaway come!


    * Vegan/vegetarian dinner cook would be AWESOME 😊 General healthy food, basic is fine 🙃🍐🍊🥑🥦🥗🥔🌮🍓
    Kitchen cleanliness is important 🙃

    Morning driver a plus!!! Watering trees/Plants ! Fun & good organizational skills :-)
    Playing games & Art making !!

    ** We would prefer a stay of at least 2 weeks, 3-6 weeks ideal.
    No car necessary. Online students 👍🏼

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    🤗 We are located in the mountains of Santa Barbara, California, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The drive to the beach and town is about 12-20 minutes. We have fruit trees you can pick from depending on the season. The weather is especially great in April thru October . We have three cute small dogs and a cat. Three children ages 9 and 13 and 22, and a baby. We have two musicians In the family (violin, drums, piano, guitar, songwriter) and love to have musicians come! Two people know Sign language. We are easy to get along with and are looking for likeminded people to share our beautiful place with.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are located in the mountains overlooking Santa Barbara, we try our best to live a sustainable and conservational lifestyle, including a mostly plant based diet. Our land has a small garden, fruit trees, privacy. My husband teaches environmental science and horticulture. This is a great opportunity if you want to experience and learn how to live this lifestyle.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    * I could really use help with : AMUSING THE KIDS, COOKING, WASHING DISHES, SWEEPING, General house cleaning, Watering outside. Property beautification.

    * We have a 9 year old and an 14 year old, and a baby. So people who are good with kids is really important! Also we like artists! And musicians!

    *Other outside help depending on the season: landscaping, rock wall building, brush clearing, cutting wood, fruit tree care, property beautification, grey water, drainage.

    *We are always happy to have someone with good creative carpentry skills!!!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Sign language (American): Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Sanskrit: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    If you communicate in ASL (American Sign Language) or would want to learn some, my daughter and I sign. My husband studies spiritual text from India and has some knowledge in the Sanskrit language.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Food - You will be sharing my kitchen. I will supply mostly organic vegan/vegetarian food. I can do some cooking of meals (usually dinner) and have some food made food in the refrigerator as well. But you would need to do some of your own food prep also (especially breakfast and lunch), depending on what you feel like eating. We eat vegetarian and vegan, so please embrace that while you are here.

    Bathroom - You will be sharing one of the bathrooms in my house as well as an outhouse. We try not to use too much water. We have a clothing washer and dryer you can use. We try to hang clothes on the line in good weather to save on electricity.

    Sleeping - If you don't have your own car sleeping arrangement, a tent can be set up. We can supply a tent and bedding if needed.

    We welcome families, couples, or individuals. A well-behaved dog is fine.

    There are no drugs, alcohol, or smoking on the property! We try to be respectful, pleasant, and good communicators, we expect the same from you. FIRE is a big concern in our area: NO FIRES!!! We are in high fire zone during the driest time of the year. That also means NO candles, smoking, incense, propane cooking, or anything that requires a flame!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Many Workawayers that have stayed with us have enjoyed hiking the local mountains, going to the beach, participating in outdoor dance/yoga/skating gatherings, rock climbing. We are 15 minutes from town, there is no public transportation near our house as we are in the mountains. If you do not have a car, you can get rides into town when we go, which is generally daily. Additionally I prefer small cars or even more, if you were to come without a car, parking is limited on mountain slopes. I can easily and happily pick you up from and drop you off at the bus, train or airport in Santa Barbara or Goleta.

    * We’ve had a lot of people in the last couple of months shift arrival dates, change/shorten length of stay when here, and all together cancel. The hardest thing is when people cancel entirely, especially last minute. I understand we all have things come up in life, and the pandemic is definitely impacting this as well. It’s been very hard for me to schedule with frequent changes. Please if we discuss and you give me dates, be pretty sure you will be able to keep them. Thanks 😉

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have internet and have had online students come for a stay.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    It’s possible we might have room for a van for the dates you wish to come, so check with us. At this time we cannot accommodate a large bus or motorhome.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    20-24 hours per week

N° de référence hôte : 815372667378

Feedback (31)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)
















































House sitter needed in off-grid living in the Bradshaw mountains, central Arizona, USA
Gorgeous mountain organic farm get-away in Floyd Virginia, USA