Expérience Workaway variée chez un sympathique couple britannique en Bretagne, France



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 427 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description




    We are Philippa (Pip) & Allan. We are a semi-retired, British couple, who moved from Yorkshire to France 12 years ago. We live in central Brittany, in France, and have recently moved near to Pontivy. (To the large village house in the picture)

    We welcome friendly and sociable workawayers, either a single or preferably a couple, to help us with a variety of general and maintenance tasks, plenty of gardening to do if that's your thing, painting and decorating, painting furniture, and animal care. We need help with sorting a lot of boxes which we still haven't emptied from the house move and generally helping us out! . There will be other usual 'mucking in' with household tasks of course too.

    Plenty of opportunities to get out and about and socialise.

    We have hosted workawayers for the past 9 years. It's been a great experience and we love having fun and interesting people to stay. We've met some fab people from all over the globe and have kept in touch with several and have even met up again with them when we've been on our own travels to Australia and New Zealand, oh...and we've also been workawayers ourselves.

    We are both friendly, sociable, fun-loving people and really enjoy the life here, although we are both avid travellers and 'home exchangers' too. Philippa loves acting and runs a drama group and enjoys doing arty-crafty stuff and upcycling furniture. Allan played rugby and canoed competitively for many years and loves watching all kinds of sport. We both enjoy playing cards and some board games. Neither of us smoke and inside the house is strictly no smoking. We enjoy interesting conversation over a glass of wine! Our 30 year old son also shares the house with us. He is a Stone Mason, artist and sculptor. He has been a workawayer too and speaks German fluently, having lived there for 5 years, before coming to France.

    We are in a village location, which has some basic amenities including a bakery, bar etc. However, there is very limited public transport in the village itself, so workawayers who have their own transport is a big bonus.

    We will have our friendly dog and cuddly cat at home, so looking for animal lovers and cannot accept people with pet allergies. We ourselves are meat/fish eaters. (Though we are trying to reduce our meat intake and our son is vegetarian but eats fish, so we can be reasonably flexible to cater for vegetarian needs)

    The area itself is lovely. Beautiful villages and towns to explore, great woodland walks and countryside. Our new home is just 10 minutes to Pontivy, a large town, with many impressive Napoleonic buildings and a fabulous castle. We also enjoy visiting Josselin with its castle right on the canal and its bustling Saturday market.

    Come and have some fun in beautiful central Brittany :-))

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Brittany is a great location with lots of heritage and lovely countryside. Lots to do. We often have social events at home or meet with friends locally, enjoy going to music nights, theatre or quiz nights and on a Sunday we enjoy browsing the local 'brocante' events where you never know what treasures you are going to find!

  • Aide


    We like practically minded workawayers who don't mind getting 'stuck in', can use their own initiative and have a 'Can Do' attitude in helping unsupervised. Enthusiasm more important than experience, as long as you are eager to learn! We always appreciate help with general chores too as we like to see you as members of our family/household so 'mucking in' with the usual things that go along with that. :-) Prefer age 23+

    Tasks will be varied, but may include help in the house, de-cluttering, cleaning, animal care, gardening, weeding, painting furniture, decorating, general maintenance and repairs etc. There's always lots to sort and various tasks to do, so looking for a practically minded people to help us.

    We speak English at home and whilst we are happy to host workawayers whose native language is not English and who wish to have the opportunity to practice their English language skills, you MUST have a good level of English to begin with. We do speak fluent French too though and James our son speaks German fluently too.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Comfortable double room, with ensuite bathroom, in our spacious house
    We have all the usual stuff like UK TV and Wifi and Amazon Prime. We have a good size garden and live in a village location which has a local bar and shop/bakers. All meals will be provided during your stay.
    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are ideally looking for mature, responsible workawayers, ideally aged 23+ who have previous work experience. Sorry we can't host families or people travelling with their own pets.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Decent wifi

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is plenty of parking on site

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours per day, 5 days a week (flexible)

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 812185957478