Help with permaculture, natural building and dog sitting in Limassol, Cyprus

Country

Chypre

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 475 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    04.07.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    917

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 3 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcoming those with experience of Permaculture, renewable/alternative technologies and/or natural building with practical skills. Also looking for reliable people to look after the place while I travel off the island.

    I moved to Cyprus 9 years ago to build my own home with my own hands, which had been a dream of mine for many years. What i thought initially would be a short experimental stay has turned into a way of life ;) While living in my weird and wonderful dome home I have been slowly regenerating the land (and myself) learning as i go, based on the needs of the place and my desire to live independently and responsibly with the lowest environmental impact possible. Permanent residents include Zuki (a calm and adventurous Husky/Alsatian who is great with kids and other animals except cats and poultry) and nine bee hives. I will do my best to share the experience and knowledge i have gained living and working on the land for the last 9 years. The work is physical and outside :)

    All the structures on the land have been hand build with low tech, low cost ecological methods (two geodesic domes, one sand bag dome an outdoor workshop, stone shower, compost toilet tower, outdoor bath, fire amphitheatre and yoga/meditation platform). In addition to the these you will be able to see working examples of swales, composting toilets, wormery, pond and bee hives with the future construction/design centering around creating a bedroom and utility room under the new roof extension as well as upgrading our food growing area and pathways, planting a living fruit fence and adding to the biodiversity of the pond area.

    I feel truly blessed to be the caretaker of this land and honored to be working together with all the plants, creatures and fungi that also make it their home. I welcome all that come here to enter into this shared experience which means that every decision or work activity should take these other beings into consideration. In practical terms for most people this means working slower, observing more and really thinking about process as well as result.

    It is all a work in progress with lots of room for improvement and i am really excited by the idea of hosting someone who has experience in permaculture/natural building/renewable technologies so we can collaborate and work together.
    I would prioritise anyone that also has a PDC and is motivated to work on/improve the design I have. I prefer living with people who are naturally tidy.

    The work is mostly physical but rewarding and there is always a fair bit of organising and tidying required around the land.

    We are located in a beautiful village 20 minutes from Limassol with lots of options for hiking around and are fairly central for travel throughout the island.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Autres
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Projet artistique

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is a great opportunity for anyone who loves living outdoors and is interested in permaculture, natural building and natural beekeeping. Simply by living here you will interact and be immersed in these elements.

    This is also a great place for anyone wanting to put knowledge they already have in these areas into practice. I am also open to someone with skills and practical experience taking the time to learn and research around an area they have little or no experience in but are passionate about learning more and would like to try out (as long as this project is harmony with what the land requires). This is after all how i started ;)

    You are very welcome to all the books and resources i have accumulated over the years and on off days i am happy to introduce you to others practicing permaculture and living off grid around the island.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Throughout 2020 I am looking for skilled handy person/craftsperson/carpenter/natural builder to assist with the completion of the interior roof for the dome extension and the building of the second bedroom. You need to be a self motivated and skilled individual that enjoys physical work (although you do not need to have all the technical skills or knowledge required for every job, part of the fun is often figuring things out together, I would expect you to have experience in building/construction of some kind that is relevant).

    One wall will be made with sandbags one with straw and one with stone. All will be finished with Cob the roof will be insulated with rockwool and paneled with reclaimed wood. The floor will more than likely be wooden..but could also end up being stone. Door and window frames also need to be fitted...so get in touch if you have and applicable skills :)

    There are various responsibilities around the land that need to be taken care of on a daily or weekly basis (turning on the watering systems, emptying pee toilet and compost, cooking and general cleaning and tidying of the common spaces) as well as seasonal responsibilities (such as olive harvesting, pruning, checking and tweeking watering systems, consolidating compost systems and small prunings into larger hot compost piles and then using these to mulch the land). These responsibilities will always take priority over other ongoing projects. These projects we will discuss and decide together depending on your passion and experience and the needs of the land.

    I prefer to get up early and work 5 hours till lunch. This means start at 8 finish at 1. In the heat of the summer especially if executing very physical tasks we split our days into two with a long free time in the middle to avoid the most intense heat. I am happy to be flexible about when you take your free days and we can discuss if you would prefer to take them together or not.

    This is a great place for anyone who is self-motivated and enjoys being given the space and responsibility to manage their own time and project/task. I do not like micromanaging or clocking you in and out of your work times. I much prefer for you to take responsibility of certain tasks and set your own schedule, this means I am looking for organised and responsible people who will honour the work hours and the work itself .

    There are always people visiting and passing through bringing new ideas and invites. You will always be welcome to join in adventures and road trips. In between excursions and gatherings I like to live quietly on the land. You need to be happy with your own company and like living in nature.

    I am looking for hard working, self motivated, reliable and outdoorsy individuals to help in the daily responsibilities around the land as well as contributing to ongoing projects. As well as the day to day responsibilities I would love help adding those extra touches, like handmade beautiful signs, clear stone cob and wood chip pathways and other little personal touches that show simplicity at its most appealing.

    I've had great experiences with longer term volunteers (2-6 months) and if you are responsible I can happily try to find you work outside the land to enable you to earn an income as well (I have been able to do so in the past but please do not read this as a certain. It is also much harder if you are not from an EU country). I am also looking for longer term people to help manage the land so I may travel.

    I am hoping to travel more this year and am looking for a responsible person/couple/family to dome/dog and bee sit. You would be mostly free to do what you pleased and enjoy the island and the land as long as you ensured the plants and bees are watered regularly and the Zuki is walked and fed. You would have access to a car (as long as you have a European driving licence and are over 25) and I would expect you to arrive at least one week before I leave so I can get you settled and orientated.

  • Langues parlées

    Greek: Courant
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Life is lived mostly outside on the land. The accommodation is either in the small sandbag dome with a double bed and some storage space but no standing room, or in spring-autumn also camping. The kitchen is in the outdoor dome the toilets are compost. We do have a washing machine but all water goes through a basic filtering system and/or directly into the land via swales so we use soap nuts to wash clothes and PLEASE ONLY BRING NATURAL/BIODEGRADABLE PRODUCTS this includes toothpaste as well as shampoo/soap/bodywash. We have wifi but it is limited so i ask you to be mindful when using youtube/streaming/downloading - if we use up our monthly quota that is it for everyone.

    Food is strictly plant based and local and therefore seasonal but not necessarily vegan although I have no problem making the shared/main meals vegan if this is important to you (the only meat cooked on the land is for Zuki) and we all share and take responsibility for the cooking and cleaning together. I do the shopping and i am happy to accommodate requests if they fit into the budget and we all want to eat it.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I'm happy to give you a ride into town on your days off and also to take you to my favourite beach spots around Limassol as well as show you some of the beautiful walks in the mountains and to picturesque villages in the area. We also have not so regular local busses and bikes available to borrow (although they will need some TLC first) It takes 30 minutes to cycle into Limassol and one hour to cycle back (all downhill into town and all uphill back). Hitchhiking is also easy if that is your thing, I and other guests/friends do it fairly regularly.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Hot water shower made with lime and gathered stones
Sea Cave (guest dome) Made of sandbags and covered in cob and lime plastered with lime putty and natural pigment as a finish
Dome home - geodesic dome with straw bale insulation and cob finish (steel roof extension added later)
Zuki and seedballs
View of some of the bee hives and the valley from one of the outside sitting areas
Gathering wild calendula
Bath faced with cob and gathered stones
Wanaari Maathai Kenyian Bee hive with observation window
Wanaari Maathai Kenyian Bee hive with observation window
Inside Sea Cave (guest dome) Made of sandbags and covered in cob and lime plastered with lime putty and natural pigment as a finish
Me face

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






















N° de référence hôte : 756924361536