Peaceful rural French life. Organic gardening and sustainable renovation in Najac, SW France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 210 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    09.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Julien, a 40-year-old humanitarian worker who now works from home.
    My background is in Agriculture/Animal Sciences, which reflects my passion for nature and animals.
    After travelling quite a bit around the world and working abroad (in Africa, Asia and I spent the last 7 years in beloved Spain), I settled in this unspoilt part of South West France since a couple of years now.
    I miss travelling to distant places but found out that I can travel through hosting workawayers, which can be the next best thing ;-)

    The house is located in the Aveyron province, just a few miles from Najac- officially one of the most beautiful villages of France, and the surroundings have mostly retained its rural French charm within the old stone houses, castles, vineyards, forests, rivers, etc...

    The project is to renovate the house using sustainable techniques and material as much as possible, whereas the vegetable garden is being cultivated under an organic & permaculture approach.

    This old country house sits isolated on top of a hill and offers a breath-taking view of the surrounding area . It is very peaceful and relaxing (... maybe too quiet for some!?!?), and although a bit secluded, it's an easy and direct train ride (1.5 hours) to/from Toulouse, the 4th biggest city in France.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The area is quite authentic and can offer a good glimpse on rural french life- especially if you are accustomed to city-life.

    Southwest France is well-known for its welcoming and gentle people, as well as amazing gastronomy and enjoying life as it should be! So you should be able to have a good time and discover a part of France where nature is generous, sustainable lifestyles are spreading, and where outdoor activities are plentiful.

    If you want to practice French, escape the buzzle of the city, enjoy the countryside, delicious French food, and help revive a century-old house, send me a "Bonjour" !

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The house is slowly being renovated both inside and out. The range of tasks to perform on the house goes from painting, scraping walls, designing and building a sundeck, building stone stairs, and general house maintenance.
    I also like to recycle things and give it new life... I'm a bit of a hoarder but try to keep it under control ;-)

    Tasks on the garden would be some planting, mowing, clearing weeds, and maybe feeding some of my animals along the way- a few chickens and 5 mischievous goats!!

    People with an interest in cars and mechanics could help fix my old collectible bangers (renault 4L, citroen 2CV...).

    Most of the work will probably be done outdoors as the weather in Spring and Summer is usually good (fingers crossed!).

    All in all, nothing too difficult; you need an ability for outdoor & manual tasks, and especially a willingness to do & learn things! I will do my best to be around and work as a team.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Russe: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accomodation consists of a room with a queen-sized bed. It is simple, rustic, and on the third floor to get a nice green view outside of the window.

    There is one bathroom and shower in the house, and it is on the ground floor.

    Food is usually home-made, mostly from organic/local ingredients and can be adjusted for any diet (pescatarian, vegetarian...) or taste preferences; of course the kitchen is open to everyone! Meals are shared and the eating schedule is flexible, with usually a light breakfast, large meal at mid-day, and a light supper to end the day.

    Lots of good quality products here and it is always great to spend time cooking and then sitting in the grass or around the table with a glass of local wine :-)

    The house is a non-smoking environment.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Najac is a touristic place and offers a variety of arts, crafts, sports, music and others opportunities during the Summer. Check it out online!

    Guests can also enjoy short walks right from the doorstep (one of the Camino de Santiago paths is very closeby), as well as biking or running. Swimming, kayaking, yoga classes and horseback riding can be found nearby.

    Every week there is a large producers' market in Villefranche-de-Rouergue (20 minutes away) to buy bread, wine, cheese, vegetables and other yummy food.

    You can find second-hand, vintage items or collectables here in the weekend markets, too.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










N° de référence hôte : 172683173737