Join our family and help us in our Eco Project in Irrel, on the Luxembourgish border in Germany

  • Allemagne
  • Enregistré comme favori 20 fois
  • Activité récente: 15.01.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name's Jérôme. I am a craftsman and working in my own buisness in drywall construction, flooring, interior decoration and finish trim work .I also have a Gardening and Hausmeister Service
    My wife Katharina works as Waitress and Housekeeper in a village nearby.

    In 2016 we made one of our dreams come true and bought a house in a small Town called Irrel with a nice garden, hill and a small forest parcell where we are living with our 3 kids. We already have worked in our forest in order to select and let the healtier trees get bigger and hold the hill from slipping down behind the house and planted other trees.
    Unfortunately nature was stronger and in 2018 we had a landslideand a part of the hill came down due to heavy rainfall.
    Luckily, the elevated terasse behind the house caught up the dirt and water and redirected the water alongside of the house. We worked hard in order to get the most dirt out of the way but there is still some work to do around.
    We hope to creat a spot for workawayers and eco tourists as there is a lot of potential on our site. But we need help to get there.

    We have rabbits that we raise, sell as pets, and from time to time eat ourselves. Our goal is to get more and more self sustaining with the time. Foremost as we discovered that our house and the hill behind have a certain impact on local's memories, because it was a mini fairy tale parc. As we were working on the hill and the forest we discovered tiny stone houses with dwarf dolls, and small wolfes and redcaps, even a snow white puppet. We didn't want to keep those houses because almost everything was left without maintenance.
    But we want to keep up with that aura that the place has left in the memories of the locals. We already build a part of a playground in the mountain and more is yet to come. We have a lot of ideas and projects to build with local materials.


    Our goal is to have a nice place, where kids from around can come and play and see how permaculture works on a small scale.
    Unfortunately the pace that we are able to work home is not enough to get there realistically,, but i am looking forward to be somehow homesteady soon, but that won't work within the next 15 years.
    Still we have plenty experience to share and so that gave us the idea to look if there's any possibility to find people willing to work with/for us without having money to exchange as we have much more to offer.
    A nice experience with highs and lows, a nice place to stay, and beautiful surroundings to discover.

    We would be very thankful if any couple would like to come to support us.
    Unfortunately our daughter has a learning deficit and takes a lot of time to do her homework and observation is a must, otherwise she'll just unfocus and we don't want her on medication. That fact takes a lot of time away in our shedule.
    But we would do everything for our kids.
    We had an Au Pair now for over a year and it already helped a lot, but we have done the most we could do ourselves until now. We learned a lot, have a lot experience to share and we hope to meet people where we can share life experiences and moments.

    Regular Tasks where support would be welcome :
    Feed and clean the Rabbits (Kids help out too)
    Clean the Garden, planting and stuff
    Babysitting : Daughter is 9 and the boys are 7 and 4



    The main projects for the moment are:

    Extend an existing concrete garden shed into a metal and blacksmith workshop and elevation of the roof.
    Digging pathways and places still covered with dirt from the landslide.
    Diggin some platforms on the hill behind the house and reindforce with concrete walls
    Preparation of the Goat space, putting up fence, build the shed.
    Renovation of another guest room.
    Building a permaculture garden : We acquired the rights to keep and mantain a parcel of land of about 7 acres of an elderly couple of farmers in order to put up a permaculture garden where wee need to start from scratch.


    Just ask if you need more information

    Thank you
    Jérôme and Katharina

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    From the touristic point of view: Our region is very proud about local products, and you can have a taste of that culture. A lot of beatiful places to discover in nature, where you can walk, bike, run. Luxembourg city is at a 40min drive and +/- 1 hour with the bus.
    From the working point of view: We have plenty of experience to share, we usually don't travel a lot but are very open minded and try to respect mother nature as far as we can.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Gardening, forest keeping, stone work, digging, woodworking, metal working,, painting, renovations, cooking, babysitters also welcome

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Luxembourgish: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Little, but nice and cosy 3 Room Studio on the 2nd floor. You have a big Bedroom, a Kitchen and a small storage Room at your disposition.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Family-friendly dogs are welcome.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 725879811221

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Come and explore this stunning region of Baden Württemberg and speak English with us, Germany
Creation of a vegetable garden and renovations in Kreßberg, Germany