Workaway dans la campagne allemande

Country

Allemagne

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 910 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    101  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.12.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a team of 7 people aged between 27 and 85, though not everyone is always here, living and working on 3 hectares of beautiful northern German countryside. Our property, which used to be a working water mill, is now a guest house for groups of up to 120 people from all over the world (mostly Germans though). We have a large garden and several animals that are really important to us, including horses, cats, ducks, chickens, a dog and a wild boar.

    The mill is a convention centre open for all kinds of groups, but we also organise a number of workshops ourselves, mostly centred around folk dancing and folk music. If you're interested in one of our workshops you usually can join in and experience a variety of dance and music styles. We have four pianos, an e-piano, an accordion, and a few working guitars that are always glad to get some love - feel free to bring your instrument as well!

    We're happy to show you around the area and take you on outings with the team occasionally or play games on some nights but please be prepared to entertain yourself as well as we are often occupied by our guests, who are always interested in our helpers, so feel free to get chat with them :)

    Sally, Sara or Claudia will answer your emails.


    A bit about the history:

    The mill was taken over in December 1993 by three young people, Robbi, Kerstin and Heike. Along with the help of their friends and families, the three of them did an amazing job of renovating, creating, building and experimenting to turn this old house into the beautiful place it is today. Many guests - some of them friends from their time at uni - keep returning to enjoy a break from day-to-day life.

    In 2007, the team bought a second guest house nearby, which Robbi left to manage by himself following Kerstin's death in 2011. Heike then ran place alone, supported by the best kitchen and cleaning staff you can possibly imagine as well as a rotating cast of Workawayers and friends. In 2012, Sally arrived as a helper and fell in love with the wild foster animals, the beautiful landscape, and the mill's magical atmosphere.

    A few years later, Heike and Sally invited Sara as a helper, and during her first stay in 2016 she already knew that she'd come back for good one day - which she did in the second lockdown-winter of 2021.

    Just after beginning to host groups again in 2021, with life and music and activity coming back to the mill, Heike had a fatal accident. Heike's sister Claudia left her old life as a vet behind and took the business over. Since then we have formed a strong team, supported by all the loving friends and guests who contribute to the lively atmosphere.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We speak fluent German and English and enjoy helping you improve and practise your German!

    You can learn new skills like sewing, repairing things, gardening, animal care, as well as cooking and making jam.

    You are welcome to take part in our weekly Scottish dancing classes or to join in Irish music and folk dance workshops organised by the house.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We do not ask for help with the business as we do have competent regular staff looking after our paying guests. Please note that, due to the nature of our business, your helping hours will be flexible and will change according to the situation.

    As we are very busy with the guests and office work, as well as organising courses, we can use help on the property. Tasks include gardening, fruit picking, general handyperson projects, sewing, and maintaining/repairing our collection of bicycles and/or antique furniture. If you feel comfortable around our animals and get along with them, feeding and mucking them out can be one of your tasks.

    Currently (due to the season) there are many leaves that need to be removed over and over again. Also we are preparing our garden and the garden furniture for winter time.

    Most of the time you'll work independently but at least one of us will always be around if you have any questions or need help.

    We're happy to hear your ideas, tips for improvement and thoughts and are always open to new perspectives.

    We have a weekly work meeting with the whole mill team where we discuss plans and projects for the upcoming week, what help is needed where, and plans for days off. Almost everyone has a project that is particularly important for them and we occasionally gather for a 'project day' where we focus on completing one task together.

    We have also recently established an irregular 'garden meeting' where we share how we're feeling and what's going on in our lives with no judgment and no commentary. Attendance is not a must, but you are welcome to join in, listen, be present, or speak if it feels right for you!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are a bilingual team, three of us English-mothertongued and the others German. Two of us are able to translate between the two languages. Please bring some patience along - not everyone living here can speak both English and German and it can sometimes take some time to communicate. We welcome helpers fluent in English, German, or both.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A shared or single room with a shared bathroom.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We're located in a rural area - our next-door neighbours are two kilometres away! - about 2 hours drive from Hamburg, Bremen, Hannover and Magdeburg. You can also reach Berlin by train in 2 hours. The closest town with a small supermarket and a garage is a 15-minute bike ride away, the next slightly larger town about 30 minutes away.

    We're happy to provide lifts to different cities when one of us is heading out anyway and can occassionally give you a lift to the closest train station (5 kms away) if you want to explore the region. We also have bikes that you can borrow, and the beautiful nature trails in the surrounding area invites short walks and longer hikes. Our friendly rescue dog Benni may accompany you if you want a furry companion on your walks.

    If you have riding experience, we have three ridable horses who are always happy to get some exercise!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have lots of space and electricity and facilities are available.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    As we have a dog and several cats, as well as the occasional visiting dog from a guest, please let us know if you´re thinking about bringing your pet along!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




























































N° de référence hôte : 6876547684a7