A Family Farm / Permaculture project - Building a Retreat in the Serra da Estrela, central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 383 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.09.2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ola! After having being volunteers while searching for land we are now proud hosts!
    We are a family farm and permaculture project up on the western slopes of the Serra da Estrela mountain range in central Portugal. We are Sara and Emil, italian-swedish couple in our mid thirties. We bought the Quinta (farm in Portuguese) 6 years ago and so far we've made ourselves cozy - transforming an existing stable into our small but comfortable home, planted trees, got some animals, had a baby (Emma, who's now 5), started other millions projects on the land - simply enjoying the good life!

    Permaculture is our biggest inspiration and it saturates everything we do here. We don't just want to live a sustainable life but we believe in going beyond sustainability towards abundance!
    We'd like to be an example and inspiration to other people - we want to LEARN and demonstrate eco-construction, gardening, farming, animal care, alternative energy, woodland management, water management etc. etc. The list is long and we are COMPLETE beginners in everything we've taken on here - learning as we go and a lot by the "trial and error" -method! =)
    It's time to heal the planet - and ourselves. It is time to BE the change!

    We are completely off-grid: our electricity comes from the sun, the water from the mountain springs and streams, the veggies from the garden, the fire from our woods - and although we're far from self-sufficient yet - that's our aim.

    We enjoy working hard as much as taking our time and chilling out. We'd like to invite people who are motivated, independent, creative, honest and eager to learn. We are humble people willing to learn from you too.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Autres
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Aide

    Aide

    You'll be asked to help take care of the animals (chickens, ducks, geese, pigs... cat and dogs), work in the garden, babysitting, plumbing, upgrading your own camp ....you name it! You really gotta become Jack of all trades living this life and that's part of the fun! If you've got any special interests like building biogas digesters or wood carving, stone rolling or whatever...speak out!.

    We never work on a precise schedule. We'll give ourselves and yourself the freedom to decide daily what needs to be done... Of course it has to be a good deal for everyone and if it doesn't feel fair we need to learn to talk and listen.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, Italian, Swedish and Portuguese

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a caravan available for volunteers and lots of space if you want to pitch a tent, with toilets and a common kitchen.
    We offer lunch and dinner but we ask to please provide your own breakfast.

    *️️️️️*️️️️️WINTER NOTE*️️️️️*️️️️️
    From december to march life gets a bit tougher here! We are working on a different system to warm up our water during winter, which means the solar shower is for now outdoor and warm only in sunny days...for the rest of the days the very refreshing river will be the best option=)

    Please consider to minimize the use of any electric device since our basic solar system gets weaker during prolonged cloudy days.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 10 minutes driving off road (30min walking...fast!) to the nearest village with a (few) cafe(s) and a little grocery shop and free (faster than our) internet - and about 30 minutes to the bigger towns with whatever else you need. We usually go shopping in one of the bigger towns every week or so - if you don't have your own means of transport you'll be depending on our timing.

    We're mostly surrounded by wilderness - good for those who enjoy walking and exploring. One of the villages close by has a beautiful castle well worth visiting. We are also surrounded by a beautiful community of people so things never gets boring around here, with regular big lunches and gatherings.

    Long term volunteers are very welcome!

    Also we'd ask you not to bring and use any chemicals (shampoos etc) in our grey water - natural home made soap (good for body and hair) can be bought for a small price from us, or we could even show you how to make your own!

    Also we don't really believe in insurance so if this is important to you please manage yourself.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    About 5 hours a day (max 25 hours)

Our second caravan so called "LaFresca" with a frontal extension made of recycled bottles and windows.
The veggie garden
Linhares da Beira, 30 min walk to find yourself in an ancient time.
The stream and one of many little waterfalls along in. In need of a "spring-clean" and building some rock pools!
One of the caravan in need of an outdoor upgrade.
"La Stalla", our home was once a stable.












N° de référence hôte : 682962919486