Come and join our permaculture and Off-Grid project in Sabugal, Portugal

Country

Portugal

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 186 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    About me:
    Hi! My name is Carlos, I'm 42 and I'm portuguese. I grew up in Montijo, I went to college in Lisbon to study computer sciences and I started to work as a programmer. 6 years later I started to feel meaningless and took a leave of absence. I did volunteer work in organic farms in Sweden and France and went to Thailand to teach English in a public school in a small village. I came back to give a second chance to my job but after 3 years I decided to quit for good. Already with some land in the countryside of Portugal I started a journey in Portugal for one year to know about eco-farming and permaculture. It was hard to settle down in my primitive place so I went back to Thailand to the same school wishing to help those children in their English and football skills. Three years ago I came to establish and develop my land. I planted some trees, made some vegetable patches, produced cider, wine, olive oil, jams, I dried figs, tomatos and apples, etc.. The next year I did it all better with the help of nice volunteers and the last year was slower for obvious reasons. I'm a quiet person but I really enjoy to use my human qualities in a group.

    About the project:
    I bought this land in 2014 while I was still working in Lisbon. After a short attempt in 2016, I finally settled down in 2018. In 2019 a fire burnt half of the land and the house was safe by millimeters. I took it like I should continue this project but carefully.
    My idea is to become as much self-sufficient as possible while helping nature to thrive and to share a possible solution for the problems humanity will face in this planet. For me, permaculture is the best answer for a lot of the current problems. There's still a lot to improve. I believe it's a good place for who's thinking how to start their own because we're still dealing with the first challenges. And it's a great learning to go throught all the processes. Money here is definitely not the priority. Restoring diversity and keeping people happy are the most important. I'm open for your ideas and creative skills. This is a great place to find peace and slow down.

    These are the main goals for this project at a long term:
    - Produce own food, energy
    - Create a community with volunteers
    - Outdoor cafe with natural products shop
    - Eco buildings to rent like Wood Cabin, Yurt, Choça (google it), Strawbale house
    - Other ideas that come up :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is a remote region in Portugal. The food is more authentic than in the urban centers and people keep some traditions expressed in events and fairs. I also buy products to the locals that can still make a good fresh goat cheese or homemade wine. I can tell you about portuguese culture, my travels, permaculture and other philosofical ideas. I'm curious to know about yours too.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I keep a list of tasks for myself that I'll share with you. Might be work outside or some improvements in the living conditions. There will always be something to pick from. Or other with higher priority like collecting wood or harvest some fruit, cooking, watering. We'll also have ducks and chickens this year to take care. Here are the main harvests, products and general tasks:


    Feb/Mar: Wine Bottling. Olive trees prunning.
    Abr/Mai: Preparation of irrigation systems. Sowing of summer vegetables.
    Jun/Jul: Tomatos to dehydrate/chutney/souce. Trees' watering. Camomile to dry.
    Aug/Sep: Tomatos. Figs to dry. Blackberries for jam, liquor and syrup. Grapes for wine and sweet wine. Apples for cider and dehydrate. Wood storage. Trees' watering.
    Oct/Nov: Chestnuts. Quinces for marmalade. Seed collection. Trees plantation. Mulching.
    Dez: Olives for oil and preserve. Deodorant. Seed sowing.
    Jan: Vacation :)

    We also produce kombucha all year round flavoured with what's abundant at the time and sow/plant the seasonal vegetables.

    Upcoming Projects:
    *️️️️️ Portable Chicken Coop
    *️️️️️ Works at home (new window, insulation with straw, wooden ceiling)
    *️️️️️ Pond extension
    *️️️️️ Clay Oven
    *️️️️️ A-frame cabin

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    Portuguese: Courant
    French: Débutant
    Thai: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    My small shed allows that one or two more people sleep in a matress in the living room. I also have a tent outside where usually couples prefer to stay.

    The electricity comes from solar panels and the water from springs. We don't use gas. Just wood.
    I have a compost toilet and a solar handmade heater. In the winter we heat the water with wood. We prepare the meals together.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The transports here are not good but I have a car. During the summer we go almost every day to some river beach or a beautiful lake in the afternoons where we swim or fish. Historical villlages with stone houses and organic markets are also places I would like to take you.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 543453243425