mis à jour  

Tâches de rénovation, de jardinage, d'aménagement paysager et d'entretien ménager sur l'île Gambier, BC, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 192 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    I own an 8-acre property, with a large lavender garden (~500 plants!), 2 large vegetable gardens, a couple of ducks, 2 cats, 1 dog, 5 ponds, lots of sun, a couple of fire pits, and an older home I moved into in late 2020. The property is on Gambier Island - a boat-access-only island (served by regular passenger ferry service) just outside of Vancouver, British Columbia.

    Gambier Island is a small community of about 200 year-round residents, growing to about 700 each summer. The majority of the island's population lives on a small peninsula on the island's southwest corner, with much of the island's 18,000 acres remaining wild. There are great swimming spots and hiking trails all over the island, and various coastal wildlife call the island and it's waters home, including deer, eagles, herons, wolves, whales, seals, sea lions, and more. In the summertime, Gambier Island hosts a weekly 'distributed' farmers market, where residents set up stalls at the end of their driveways and customers wander around the island to buy fresh produce, baked goods, arts and crafts, and other uniquely Gambier merchandise.

    There is a 10-minute passenger ferry that runs between the island's New Brighton dock to the Langdale Ferry Terminal, which provides onward service to and from Vancouver. The town of Gibsons, with full services available, is a five minute drive from Langdale. There are no services whatsoever on Gambier Island (other than the Saturday market in the summer) - no restaurants, bars, shops, or anything else.

    I'm in my mid-40s, and have lived on Gambier Island for 3 years. I grew up in Los Angeles, before spending most of my 20's as a guide leading adventure tours all over North America. I settled in Western Canada, as it's natural beauty called to me, and made the move to rural Gambier Island in late 2020. I enjoy DIY projects, cooking, gardening, hiking, camping, good conversation with interesting people, and trying new things.

    In addition to myself, I have a number of friends who come and go from the property regularly, and may have multiple Workawayers here at any given time.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Gambier Island is an incredible hidden gem just outside Vancouver. The island is a mix of rugged outdoorsy-types, artists, musicians, work-from-home professionals, on-island labourers, retired people, and more. People here are resourceful, neighbourly, helpful and generous, but also not afraid of the elements or getting dirty.

    Workawayers will participate in various tasks on the property, building knowledge and experience in renovations and construction, gardening, landscaping, and other related skills. For those looking to improve English language skills, there is no shortage of friendly neighbours looking to chat.

    In addition to skills learned on the property, the owner has previously worked as a guide and naturalist, and has extensive knowledge about the local ecosystems and geography to share.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In the spring and summer of 2024 Workawayers will be supporting the owner in renovating a suite in the house, expanding and adding to the gardens and other outdoor areas of the property, as well as general house/grounds keeping.

    Work required consists of generally of support on construction/renovations, grounds keeping, general maintenance, gardening, and housekeeping. Specific tasks include: assisting the owner with renovations, mowing, trimming, raking, pruning, chopping wood, moving/hauling materials, light maintenance, gardening, animal care (2 ducks, 2 cats, 1 dog), harvesting/processing produce, etc.

    Workawayers will not provide any assistance in areas where paying rental guests stay, nor will they be involved in any production/processing of produce/goods for sale.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation would be in a private bedroom (couples and friends travelling together would be required to share a bedroom), with a semi-private bathroom (possibly shared with other long-term housemate(s) and/or guests/friends of the owner), and shared use of the kitchen and other living space. The kitchen/pantry will generally be fully stocked (pasta, rice, oils and vinegars, canned and dried beans, seeds and nuts, fresh fruit and veggies, protein (both plant- and animal-based), etc.), and the owner will endeavor to provide specific requested items (within reason). Personal hygiene items, toiletries, specialty health-food and/or supplements, junk food, alcohol, and other similar items are not included.

    Those staying in the house take turns cooking dinner - expect to be asked to cook twice a week. Dinners are mostly eaten together with whoever is in the house, with breakfast and lunch being prepared individually. Anyone staying in the house will be expected to contribute to routine/daily cleaning and house upkeep as in any typical roommate/housemate situation. Overnight/out-of-town visitors are can be accommodated within reason, and should be expected from the owner and/or other housemates from time-to-time. (Safety protocols related to COVID and/or other concerns will be discussed communally among all housemates, if concerns arise. There will be no shared space with rental guests.)

    The house has Starlink satellite internet, a great sundeck, and a hot tub (available for use whenever there are no short-term rental guests).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Day and/or weekend trips to Whistler, Squamish, Vancouver, Victoria, Tofino, and Seattle are all within reach - but you may find relaxing on the property and exploring the island more rewarding!

    On-island, a vehicle is really not necessary other than getting goods from the dock to the house. However, one can be borrowed from the owner on occasion to get to the beach, a trailhead, or elsewhere. Off the island, there is public transit into the town of Gibsons, and all throughout the Greater Vancouver area.

    NOTE - there are no services on Gambier Island. No shops, no restaurants, no pubs, bars, etc.

    All Workawayers must carry full travel insurance to be accepted at this property.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The house has reliable high-speed satellite internet, and many quiet corners and private rooms for remote work - however there are no business-centre facilities (fax, printer, scanner, copy machine, etc.)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 677426435844

Feedback (9)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)












Help us with setting up our new place in Kleena Kleene, BC, Canada
Venez jouer avec les plantes de notre petit jardin maraîcher près de Nelson, Colombie-Britannique, Canada