Family homestead welcomes help in community in Balsa, Hunedoara, Romania

  • Roumanie
  • Enregistré comme favori 306 fois
  • Activité récente: 29 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    AUGUST 2023: Need urgent help with slipstraw walls of a house.

    Greetings traveler.

    We are Matias (31), Jennifer (33) and our three little kids, a family mostly motivated by keeping things simple, down to earth, and cost-efficient ;)

    The ultimate long-term goal is to be as self-sufficient as possible even though it's not something we're stressing about. We just want to be as prepared as possible for when the SHTF for real. Which is increasingly looking like it will be sooner rather than later.. Well, let's move on shall we?

    Matias is a professional armchair philosopher and an amateur woodworker. He likes to smoke tobacco and start random projects at the drop of a hat.

    Jennifer can teach you about gardening and edible plants. She's also passionate and knowledgeable about natural birth.

    We originally arrived in this valley as Workawayers ourselves. We very quickly decided that we wish to plant ourselves here long-term and bought a hectare of land and consequently built a house on that land.

    We live surrounded by other households within walking distance (2km or less) and we very loosely define ourselves as a "community" which is more like a spread out village. There's many families of various nationalities living here, so if you have kids in any age between 0 and 13, they will find a child to play with somewhere in our valley.

    At the moment we have some chickens and roosters, 3 dogs and a few cats. In the future sheep, rabbits and possibly a cow are things we would like to integrate into our lives.

    We are - even after 5 years since starting this adventure - still learning and adapting to this lifestyle. Compared to "standard Western living" we are quite minimalist. Our solar panels give us enough juice to keep the lights on, charge our phones/laptops and keep a fridge running in the summer months.

    In the kitchen we have set up a gravity-fed system with collected rain water, so there we have running water. We do washing and dishing with rain water (or take a dip in the lake). Drinking water we take from a well on our land or sometimes from a spring down in the village.

    Speaking of the village, we are 1.5km away, at the end of a dirt-road (mostly uphill) that gets progressively worse the closer to us you get. If you have a camper, there's a possibility - when the road is dry - to get up to a ridge about 400 meters away from our house.

    Matias eats low-carb, the rest of the family eats everything. Vegans/vegetarians can be accommodated without any problems.

    The projects we have lined up for this year are:
    -Building slip-straw walls for a second house we started building last year
    -Garden related bits and bobs (mulching, weeding, planting etc.)
    -General homestead related maintenance (fixing broken things, firewood related adventures, fences to be readjusted etc.)

    Apart from this, we expect you to at least offer help with cooking and dishwashing procedures, even though half of the time it won't be needed.

    What you can expect generally:
    - Informal, chaotic but relaxed and mostly politically incorrect environment
    - Kids that will want to play with you and show you all kinds of things (if they like you)
    - Delicious sour-dough bread
    - Dynamic and flexible working hours (we don't do very strict schedules around here)
    - Nature (the pleasant and unpleasant)
    - Good internet connection

    What you CAN'T expect generally:
    - 5 star accommodation
    - Warm water on demand
    - mRNA spike proteins

    The unfinished house was used for accommodating volunteers last year and it worked out great, you will have a mattress and a fat cozy blanket. Pitching a tent is another option, usually a mattress fits in there as well.

    Free time:
    We like to play board games/card games and regularly get together with neighbors and their volunteers to play. Also random visits for socialization are not unheard of. Campfires and pizza-parties are also a common occurrence in summer.

    We accept stays of any length but preferably 2 weeks minimum. It usually takes a while to get used to each other and the longer the stay, the better we will get to know each other :)

    #romania #community #selfsustainable #selbstversorger #gemeinschaft #rumänien #selbstversorgung #offgrid #homestead #permakultur #natur #nature #homemade #gardening #building #animals #permaculture #unschooler #freelearner #homeschooling #homeschoolingfamily #familywithkids

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    As we are foreigners in Romania, we can't give you much of Romanian culture.

    What we hopefully can provide, is some food for thought and inspiration in regards to how or why to start on the path of self-sufficiency. We don't follow any specific prepper ideology or religious dogma, rather we try to be realists and look at the world as it now stands, and plan our steps accordingly.

    Ideally, you will be pushed at least to the edge of one your comfort zones during your stay here, it might be physical, mental, emotional or spiritual. Either way, we hope that we can serve as a catalyst in some way for your continued growth as a human being.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Tasks for 2023:
    - Walls/plaster
    - create a new sitting area
    - collect firewood
    - everything garden related (seeding, planting, weeding, prepare the greenhouse, prepare beds, ...)
    - enjoy life

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Finnish: Courant
    Swedish: Courant
    Romanian: Intermédiaire
    Hollandais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    You can choose to sleep in the loft of the new building which does not have walls yet or to put up a tent in a spot you prefer. We recommend you to bring your own sleeping bag as it can get cold in the nights. Also warm clothes and good shoes would be preferable for autumn/winter/spring.
    We can provide you a mattress and blanket, plus a tent if you wish. If the road is not too wet it is possible to get up here in your campervan.

    We are living off-grid surrounded by nature. The electricity comes from photovoltaic panels, the drinking water from a well, the firewood from the woods. For washing we usually use rainwater or go have a dip in the lake. Our toilet is a compost toilet.

    Electricity and Wifi are available in our house. Of course food will be provided.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are in plain nature, no big streets nearby but many paths to hike!
    In the village down the hill (1.5km) you can find a small shop, where you can connect to the locals or just spend some time off.
    Twice a day there goes a mini bus from the village to Orastie, where you have more variety of shops and entertainment if you're looking for that.
    Hitchhiking from or to Orastie is the easiest option.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection so that working online should not be an issue. Jennifer is working online herself.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    In summer when the road is dry you can get pretty close to our house.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Yes. But dogs should stay out of the house, garden and not chase the cats or chickens.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 656435814665

Feedback (9)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.6)

Communication: (4.9)

Sustainable mountain life in the small village of Poiana Ruscai, Romania
Projet de rénovation d'une maison traditionnelle de 1850 en Roumanie