Enjoy a quiet life helping out on our smallholding in Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 10 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.07.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple aiming to live off-grid and be self sufficient on our small holding in rural Portugal. We fell in love with the country whilst on our own work away adventure and are striving to live a simple life close to nature and share our lifestyle with others.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are in a very beautiful location in Central Portugal with many historic villages nearby such as the mountain village of Monsanto, and roman village of idanha-a-velha.

    We are 10 minute drive from the beautiful lake where Boom festival is held, and there are many amazing places to hike along ancient roads.

    We are in a very rural location, quiet and peaceful- perfect for getting away from a hectic city life for a while.
    There are also many local markets and events to attend, with a growing multicultural community.
    Many people are coming to our area, thinking to try and live a more simple life and maybe buy their own place, and we can share our experience so far and a slice of the lifestyle for those who are interested in 'escaping the system'.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are still early in our project, meaning we have a wide variety of tasks to do all year round. Having an extra pair of hands will go a long way to help with general things things like renovations, fencing, gardening general maintenance, clearing, art projects and preserving food. We also have some 'big projects' such as-

    -planting and irrigating an area of ash trees to coppice for firewood.
    -preparing for goats & sheep- fencing, diverting water, building animal housing
    -renovating an old ruin as a space for guests/workaways
    -renovating campervan/van as a space for guests
    -water management- directing rainfall and creating ponds
    -gardening- digging hügelkultur beds and practicing permaculture in food production.

    We are happy to be accommodating with the type of work you would like to try. We always welcome others who like to create something beautiful together. If you see a project that interests you, please mention in in your message

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    For volunteers we can provide our campervan, equipped with one double bed and beautiful views out over Spain at sunrise, As well as a caravan which serves as a kitchen and living room. Both have solar power to charge devices during the day.
    There is also plenty of flat space to park a van.
    We have an outdoor solar shower and wood fired bath, as well as a composting toilet.
    There is an outdoor washing station for the kitchen.

    Food will be provided for you so you can cook for yourselves, though we would plan to cook and eat together at least a couple of times a week. You are welcome to help yourselves to food from the garden also.

    We have two friendly dogs and 2 snuggly cats, as well as chickens and ducks!

    Families and those traveling with well behaved animals are welcome.

    We require guests to have sufficient insurance in order to stay with us.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our nearest city is Castelo Branco (45 minutes by car), and we can pick and drop up any workaways without transport, however we'd recommend you come with your own vehicle if you want to make the most of the local area. In our village there is no shop, though there is a bar. The nearest town is called idanha-a-nova which is 15-20 minutes away by car.

    We're a very laid back couple and we enjoy socialising and working together on projects, but also sometimes having time to ourselves. With this in mind, we would seek independent people who are easy going, will clean up after themselves and be respectful and responsible with our land and tools. likewise we will respect your privacy, as well as being friendly sociable.

    It's important to us to make the experience fun and useful for volunteers as well as ourselves, and hope to make new, likeminded friends along the way. We look forward to hearing from you, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have internet aviable but at the moment our solar can only be used during the day if the sun is out so all charging must happen in daylight hours, especially in winter.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have ample space for campervans and caravans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We welcome friendly dogs who will not bother chickens and ducks!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Up to 5 hours a day, 4 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 642739294528