Creating a permaculture homestead in the Oeste, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 25 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Note: 19 Nov - 10 Dec, currently have a full house.

    Hello! have bought a farm (May 2021) in the beautiful, mild Oeste region of Portugal. Come help me turn it into a permaculture homestead. The house itself is in good repair and has all the usual modern conveniences. The farm/quintinha has about 7.5 hectares of land that I am reclaiming after 8 years of no one caring for it, including old orchards, fields, wild forest and a pond. I have 2 awesome dogs and 2 equally awesome cats, and will be adding chickens, sheep, goats, and other animals in the coming months. About me: I am 44 year old woman, I left corporate America at 41 to travel and create a more sustainable, authentic life for myself and make a positive impact on the world. And that has brought me here, to my little farm.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn about permaculture, building a homestead, and caring for different kinds of animals. I spent 2 years traveling and using Workaway on and off before I bought my place, so we can share travel stories. I can help you with English if you are learning, and we can share favorite recipes and good vibes. I also speak Spanish and Portuguese (intermediate for both).

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help me with caring for the animals, and introducing new animals to the farm. I am learning as I go, so it will be great to have others to share the experience with. I will be introducing chickens, sheep and goats in the coming months, and adding foster dogs to the pack. If you don’t like animals this is probably not your ideal workaway.

    There will be some land clearing and tending, making paths, and figuring out good permaculture solutions. Building things from the scrap lumber and metal the previous owners left. Some of it is still partially buried in the yard, so it’s like a treasure hunt.

    Other things: Establishing a tasty veggie garden, Harvesting fruit, Turning the small orchard by the house into more of a food forest, Building things like a compost bin, Helping me improve my Portuguese. Creating a cool camping spot. There are a ton of possibilities.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Portugais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I would love help in improving my Portuguese. I can help with English.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I have a comfortable house with the usual modern conveniences, including heating being installed in time for winter. Summers are mild in this area, and windows are pretty much always open. I have 2 bedrooms for guests, each with 2 single beds that can be put together for couples. Bathroom is shared. You are also welcome to camp if you like. The stars are nice out here and there are some nice views. Folks in caravans are welcome too.

    We can share meals as much as we like, I like to make at least one hearty one a day. And the pantry is always open. The food is vegetarian, and I try to make it as unprocessed and sustainable as possible. This will become more so when the future garden and chickens start producing veggies and eggs. I can accommodate Vegan folks too. Flexible meat eaters can eat as much vegetarian food here as they like and there are many cafes and restaurants in the nearby town that serve the usual fare (3km).

    Everyone to pitch in on cooking and cleaning. I love trying new dishes, and am happy to make some of my favorites. I usually focus on cleaning one day a week, and everyone can tidy up after themselves on the day-to-day.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    What to do with your free time - The nearby town is pretty and has plenty of cafes and a nice park. We are on the Oeste wine route and in a heavy fruit production area of Portugal so there is wine tasting and harvest festivals. The beautiful beaches and surfing of Peniche are just 30 minutes by car. Lisbon is 45 minutes by car or bus. Caldas da Rainha is also a nice town to explore and 20 minutes by train or car. I can show you around or you can explore on your own if you like.

    Life at the homestead is pretty chill. Looking for volunteers with good energy and a sense of humor and adventure, as many of the things we will be doing I will be doing for the first time as well. This is a great place to let your stress go and just be.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Wi-Fi is by a 4G sim router. It’s usually around 50 mbps download/25 up. There are also a couple of cafes with decent Wi-Fi in town.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Happy to host travelers with pets that can coexist with the animals here (dogs, cats, chickens, sheep, etc)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 639453142364