Venez nous rejoindre et travaillez avec des alpagas sur une propriété sans produits chimiques près de Yass, Nouvelle-Galles du Sud, Australie

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 295 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    40  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.07.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I run an alpaca stud specialising in coloured suri alpacas. I also breed Wiltipoll sheep for eating. Shearing is always booked for mid December and that is always a fun experience.

    I am currently working on my vegetable garden and orchard and propagating plants. If you would like to learn more about this now is a great time to do so.

    Please note that I have 2 indoor cats and 3 outdoor dogs - if you are allergic to pets or afraid of dogs this is not the place for you. Also non smokers preferred.

    Please remember that when taking part in Workaway both of us are ambassadors for our countries. Your host will form an opinion of your nationality based on your behaviour.

    If you are vegetarian (I don't take vegans as I will offend you with the way I prepare food) please let me know before you arrive. I do cook quite a few vegetarian meals (mainly Indian) and I plan out meals for a week in advance and I don't have prior warning you will have a very boring diet for the time you are here.

    Also, I scan each helpers passport on arrival. I am required to do this for my job as I must account for all foreign nationals who stay on my property. It is also good security for both of us.

    If you are looking for party central this is not the place for you. I am 30 km from the nearest pub and town and there is no public transport. However, if you want a peaceful and tranquil place to regroup and provide help in return I would love to have you stay. However, you do get the opportunity to visit Canberra (Australia's capital) as I have to go in regularly and you can go sightseeing for the day. Most attractions in Canberra are free.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider avec des éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You have the opportunity to visit Australia's capital city where many of the sites are free entry - for example the Australian War Memorial, Parliament House, the Australia Museum, the National Library, and the National Gallery.

    Also as I only speak English you will get lots of opportunities to practice your English language skills.

    Also you learn about alpacas - beautiful gentle animals and at the moment there are lots of cria (baby alpacas)

  • Aide

    Aide

    I have been living here since August 2014 and am still building the garden to the standard I want as well as fencing off various areas.

    I am looking for helpers to assist with my garden and some basic landscaping including clearing more vegetation from around the house site. At the moment I am preparing fleeces for processing - this is not hard work but can be a bit boring but I try to mix it up with other tasks to make life more interesting. Also assistance with my alpacas who are all very tame and will eat out of your hand given the opportunity.

    My next project is to build a small wall with glass bottles - learning as I go 8-)

    I am also working with Greening Australia and will be revegetating a wildlife corridor and chopping back blackberry bushes and thistle as I don't like to use chemicals if I can help it.

    I expect 4-5 hours a day 5 days a week average - when it is hot chores can be done early morning as the heat of the day can be very exhausting. The rest of the time is yours to do with as you wish. Days can be flexible so if I am heading to Canberra on a weekdays for work you are welcome to have a day off and go sightseeing (I can drop off and pick up at the end of the day) but make up the time elsewhere during the week.

    Please note that this is a farm and you will get dirty - I supply work gloves, goggles and ear protection for when you are using noisy equipment etc. (like the lawn mower). I do not supply your footwear, hats etc - you need to bring these with you. Please bring a wide brimmed hat - a smart little cap means you will get very sunburnt on the ears.

    Also, you must have enough English to understand instructions - I am happy to repeat but there is a limit to how many times I can say the same thing in different ways as well as demonstrate what is required. Farms can be dangerous and instructions are for your own safety so you must be able to understand those instructions. I do use a translator on my phone but this can take a long time to get a message through.

    You must also be capable of closing gates and doors at all times. If you leave a gate open a number of things can happen - my dogs get out and find the 1080 poison meant for foxes and my dogs die (there is no antidote for 1080), my alpacas or sheep get out onto the road causing an accident and costing me LOTS of money and could even lead to bankruptcy, my stud male alpacas get in with the girls and I am left with the cost of DNA testing all offspring for the season (another very expensive exercise).

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I am attempting to be fully self sufficient and the accommodation is all off grid (but very high tech). There is also satellite TV for the evenings. However, you still need to be aware of not leaving electrical appliances and lights running unnecessarily as well as limiting to 5 minute showers.

    Internet access is variable and my limit is 50GB a month. If you use this up I cannot work and you will have no access until the next month.

    Getting here is easy as I am located 25 minutes from Yass where the Melbourne to Sydney train line station is located and 20 minutes from the Hume Hwy at Yass. I have a spare room with 2 large single beds and all home cooked meals will be provided. Bathroom facilities are shared.

    Please note - you MUST have private medical insurance and health cover - this is a working farm and not a holiday resort. All helpers must pull their own weight and keep your accommodation clean and tidy - if you are here more than a week PLEASE change and wash the bed linen and towels - you also need to bring your own personal items such as toiletries. On your last day you are expected to strip the beds and vacuum and clean the bedroom before you depart.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is the opportunity to visit Canberra and Yass as I travel into both regularly and a day out is easily organised.

    Yass is a thriving small community in the centre of the wool growing area of NSW. It has wonderful cafes and even a jazz bar which is open on the weekend. Yass hosts the Turning Wave Festival in September each year (Irish Australian music festival) for which I volunteer as it is a great opportunity to meet some fantastic performers.

    Yass is about 50 minutes drive from Canberra (Australia's capital city and the centre of our government).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)


























N° de référence hôte : 633544782778