Help in our house and garden on a remote island on the coast of Finnmark, northern Norway

Country

Norvège

Enregistré comme favori 1253 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    04.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Cuban/Norwegian couple who is running a guesthouse placed on a remote island on the coast of Finnmark, northern Norway: Seiland. It is aprox. one hour from the Alta Airport. In the summer we can see the midnight sun and, in the winter, the northern lights.
    We are very busy as a couple running Seiland House and we have limited time for our own private house, 9 years old boy and our dogs. We both have jobs that require time away from the island, so, you will work most of the time on your own. We will of course guide you and keep in contact if you need further instructions.
    Because of this we prefer helpers who are positive minded and have the mentality, responsibility and self-motivation to live and work by themselves. Please note that this is a little place with no shops around and only a handful of people. You need to be comfortable in your own company when needed and help us to plan in advance what we need to bring from the city.
    We are both interested in meeting new people and that is why we think a workawayer is a very positive help and company for us as a family. So, every time we have the chance, we share time together and interchange cultural traditions with our helpers. In all these years of experience we have met incredible young and responsible people that enriched our life.
    We are surrounded by stunning nature: high mountains, fjords and the view from the house is spectacular. The guesthouse is a renovated boarding school and our guests use to be local groups, European fishing tourists and other individuals.
    Nowadays we are working to develop the place to a full year destination and there will come many changes in our life. So, we are now renovating a lot and creating new facilities for winter tourism.
    On the island there are great possibilities for all kind of outdoor activities like hiking in the mountains, sea and lake fishing, visiting the glacier on Seiland National Park or going to harvest berries and mushrooms. If you like to go trekking, our friendly dog will be excited to join you :0) Due to the silence, it's also a great place to think, meditate and slow down.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Like Stig is a guide he can introduce you into the local history, the Sami culture, the legends about the nature, the traditional Norwegian food and customs. Diamela and Denis can tell you how it is to live as Cubans in Norway and talk also about the traditions in their homeland 😊As we mentioned, there is just a few people living in this part of the island, so, it is not always possible to interchange with locals but when there is a chance they are friendly and happy to meet new people in the island.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help in the house:
    - Cleaning and keeping the house
    - Washing clothes
    - Cooking meals
    - Giving some attention to our son, dog and reindeer

    Outdoor work:
    - Cutting the grass in our garden
    - Shovelling snow
    - Making ready our private boat: fill petrol, maintenance and engines
    - Cleaning and maintenance of our fish-cleaning house
    - Renovationg and keeping general maintenance of our house

    Living on an remote island requires flexibility, and all of us try to contribute with our different skills. We require one or two persons who can solve variable tasks and work independently. However training will be given :0)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have extra room with access to toilet and shower available

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Here workawayers can enjoy fishing, trekking and skiing. You will love to have the chance to experience midnight sun and/or northern lights. There is access to passenger boat and buss connection the city of Alta and to visit the Alta Museum, the Ice hotel, the Cathedral of the Northern Lights...and there is also connection to go to the North Cape.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


























N° de référence hôte : 631427115125