mis à jour  

Help out at our animal sanctuary on the slopes of Taranaki Mounga, New Zealand



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    Our sanctuary is an off-the-grid farm animal sanctuary on the slopes of Taranaki Mounga. Solar panels provide our power, a river pipeline supplements our tank water catchment and we are working towards self-sufficiency. We have great mobile coverage, we don't have WiFi available, we use data on our phones to access the internet.

    We provide sanctuary, care, support and hugs for over 70+ fellow beings. It is a quiet and peaceful place (well apart from the roosters🐓 lol) surrounded by native bush and backs onto the national park. We are 26km from New Plymouth, close to many tramping tracks, surfing spots and beaches.

    We support the sanctuary ourselves, any help is gratefully appreciated. We have much to do, we prepare food for our crew every morning, we have renovations to complete, gardens to care for and there is always a variety of farm jobs to do. You don't have to have animal care experience, we are happy to share our knowledge.

    Your accommodation will be a cute caravan called Ziggy, he's warm and cosy, bathed in all day sun, overlooks our home paddock and boast a great view of the coast. Suitable for a couple as there's a double bed. Your own seperate shower and composting toilet block is close by.

    We will provide plant-based meals, but if you're into cooking that would be fabulous! We're pretty cruisy and relaxed. We are both vegan and passionate about our world and our place in it. We have a huge and deep respect for the fellow beings that we live beside in sanctuary. As a mark of that respect we do not allow any meat, eggs, fish, honey, dairy or animal products to be bought to their home.

    Experience has taught us that honest and open communication is best. We want to work together in harmony, respecting each other's well being and safety. We have found we need to say things that we thought could go unsaid. So please forgive us if this seems over explained.

    We have much to do and we will be relying on your help, your ability to listen, ask questions, problem solve, take direction where needed and be aware of your surroundings and the place and safety of other's sharing it. We expect that you will pick up after yourself and pitch in with the household tasks. Being self motivated is important. There are no stupid questions we are happy to help in any way we can, please don't be afraid to ask! Look for things you can help with, be aware of routines, make sure to engage your 'common sense' but if you are unsure, ask how you can help.

    This is a working farm, we have mud, spiders, bugs, dirt, and poo, we also have hot water, soap and hand sanitiser.

    Keen curiousity is welcomed, we are happy to share our beautiful spot with you but if your priority is to constantly experience the world through your phone and social media then this isn't the place for you. We understand that you will want to take pics of the crew and catch up with family and friends. That's not a problem but when we are 'working' we are 'working', no phones!

    We have learned that off grid living doesn't work for everyone as it does have some restrictions. We are from the hippy generation (in our 60's) so for the sake of the environment we happily embrace conserving water, improvising, recycling and monitoring our power usage as we are reliant on the sun for our power.

    You'll have to be prepared to get 'stuck in', be unfraid to get your hands dirty, be motivated, listen and learn. While we have lots to get done it is a 'marathon' not a race so our approach is fairly laid back and calm; we appreciate our beautiful spot everyday and embrace the joy the crew bring us.

    Whilst we don't expect you to spend every evening with us, it would be great along the way to learn of your different experiences and perspectives on our world.

    Please let us know if you have any phobias, medical issues or physical restrictions that could impact your stay.

    We love making new friends. We look forward to sharing our place with like-minded gentle souls. 🌱

    🌈lgbtqia friendly.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a sanctuary, we endeavour to offer a different view of our fellow beings. We provide a safe haven for them to live their lives on their terms. We offer an off-the-grid experience in a beautiful tranquil rural setting surrounded by bush and native birds.

  • Aide


    Gardening experience would good. If you're interested or experienced in self sufficiency or eco projects we are keen to learn together. We are happy to share our knowledge of animal care and renovating. General skills, common sense, a listening ear and a willingness to help are the most important skills.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Ziggy the caravan. Seperate composting toilet and shower pods close by.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Taranaki has much to offer! Mountain pursuits, tramping, great beaches, coastal walkway, Len Lye art centre, Pukeiti gardens, great surfing, cafes, Pukekura park, Bowl of Brooklands, festival of the lights, art and garden trails.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 616963871569

Feedback (6)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Permaculture homestead farm close to Tuatapere, western Southland, New Zealand
Help with gardening and DIY in Auckland, New Zealand