mis à jour  

Creating a home in the forest in Omotumotu Valley, New Zealand

  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Enregistré comme favori 73 fois
  • Activité récente: 5 juin 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    We are two friends who co-bought a 30-acre section of native forest at the top of the Omoto valley, with the intention of creating a space where ourselves, friends, and family can use and feel at home. From the road end, it’s a 5 minute walk to reach our section along a small graveled path, built by hand. We have two small cabins sited up on a river terrace, under a canopy of rata and rimu trees, with a view out across the valley and the forest around. We have built /renovated both cabins ourselves to suit the surroundings, using mostly recycled materials, plenty of exposed timber and cutting no corners on finishing touches. There is no road noise or sign of any neighbours and there's no utility services connected, so it's pretty simple living.

    Since coming into ownership of the land, there has been a stream of ongoing projects to create a place which is simple, outdoor living, yet comfortable and homely at the same time. These projects have included building a path to the cabins, planting over 100 fruiting trees/berry bushes, establishing a vegetable patch, installing solar power, putting in water supplies, cutting tracks through the forest, setting up a trapping network for pests in the area, building a 23m2 cabin from scratch, etc, etc. Current/future projects include further renovations, building a tunnel house, cutting more tracks for trapping lines, creating a firebath and pizza oven, to name a few.

    In regards to us, we are both easy-going, active people who love the outdoors. We know each other through mountaineering and have made many trans-alpine and tramping trips together. Independently, we have both always dreamed of living on the west coast and are very much in love with the landscape the coast offers, along with the local community here. We have both spent a lot of time overseas and have volunteered in many places around the world - so we certainly know what it’s like to be a helper in a new place!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The West Coast is one the most remote and beautiful places in New Zealand. Our place offers the opportunity to live in what feels to be a very remote location (but yet close to town for anything you need) and close to the endless outdoor pursuits.

  • Aide


    As with any venture, many hands and friendly faces make work easier and more enjoyable, so we're warmly welcoming anyone enthusiastic to come and join us. Practical building skills, self-initiative and creativity would be great assets for anyone to bring with them, but regardless of your background, if you're keen to help / learn, then your time will be valued here.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    For anyone motivated in joining us, we ask that you stay with us for one week or longer and we can offer food and shelter for a half day's help in return. As described above, living here is simple; electricity is a small solar system, water is from the roof, the toilet is a compost loo, and (hot) showering is outside under a rimu tree. Sleeping options are constantly evolving, so ask us if this may be a concern for you, but the best we could offer for the summer of 2022/23 would most likely be a 3-man tent with a mattress and a tarp over top. Surrealy enough there is good cellphone coverage around the cabins. If you're coming in a van (and wish to sleep there) then conveniently the last 1km of road is private (with a locked gate), and there's a large, flat area at the end of the road / start of the track to the cabin, so if you had your own sleeping option with wheels then parking up there would be no worries at all.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are about 7 minutes drive from Greymouth - for supermarkets, petrol stations, shops, laundry, hospital and all the usual supplies in a small local town. There are endless walks and tramping options on the West Coast and lots of coastline to explore!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Half a day's help

N° de référence hôte : 615363287559

Feedback (2)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Petit refuge pour animaux de ferme recherche workawayers pour veiller sur les animaux et participez à divers petits projets, près de Milton, Nouvelle-Zélande
Help around the garden/house in Christchurch, New Zealand