Come help with ponies, farm and DIY on our small family farm near Ballymacarbry, Ireland

  • Irlande
  • Enregistré comme favori 17 fois
  • Activité récente: 5 déc. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    I have a small farm that I am slowly getting back in shape. Living in the foothills of the Comeraghs, looking down over the picturesque Nire valley.
    Stunning views and extremely peaceful.

    I have a small son (pre school age) and tasks are always fitted around his needs.

    I breed and train ponies and horses as part of a breed conservation programme not for profit. Currently have 3 Kerry Bog ponies and a Connemara filly. No riding available as all stock are too young bar one tiny pony who is too small.
    Tasks will include weeding, clearing fields, picking stones and helping to bring the farm back to good working order.

    Projects this year include stone walling, a poly tunnel to be erected and fruit cages to build. Any produce grown is for personal use.
    We have a farm barn/stables to be built and the entire farm to fence (with tractors 🙈😂)

    Accommodation is a spacious mobile home in its own private garden. One room with a double and single bed and one room with a small single.
    No Wi-Fi but excellent mobile network coverage.
    Wi-Fi available in the main house.
    Full cooking and bathing facilities, but main meal can be eaten in the house with myself and my son if the timing suits you.

    With a small boy around there are lots of beach trips and other small outings happening weekly. Plenty of opportunities to get out and see the local sites and enjoy the hiking available.

    My house is newly built this year and we still have lots to do to, such as painting and fencing and flower beds.

    Tasks will involve plenty of breaks and you will need to be able to continue to do tasks by yourself after I have explained the work as I will sometimes have to go and amuse my son with other things.

    I sew children’s clothing for Christmas markets as well as for my own son and myself. If it is something you are interested in I’m happy to teach. I also knit and I enjoy baking and cooking and am always happy to swap recipes or instruct.

    Childcare is not expected.

    You will need to be Dog friendly, child friendly and willing to do physically demanding projects. However helping hours are short and tasks can be spread out.

    This is not a place to come if you have a bad back or similar injuries or if you are not prepared for physically demanding work.

    We are extremely remote so if you wish to travel independently while here you will need to have your own car. However I go to town at least twice a week and am out and about most days.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Opportunity to:
    improve language skills,
    Learn skills for living off the land.
    Share cooking/baking recipes
    Learn about a rare Irish Pony Breed
    Explore a stunning part of Ireland’s countryside
    Sewing, knitting, cooking, baking

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Help with horses
    General farm tasks

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Always interested in other cultures and languages.

  • Hébergement


    Mobile home, fully electric with heating.
    Private entrance and garden, surrounded by a small stream.
    Not top of the range and modernised but good clean and serviceable. Myself and my son lived here for the last 3 years while building my house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are no public transport links from our village to local towns but we do go to Clonmel and Dungarvan regularly and you are welcome to join us. I can also collect you and bring you to any busses you need while you are with us so you can go on adventures while you are here.

    People can travel by bus to most citys in Ireland from Clonmel and Dungarvan. I am happy to help you plan any trips you would like to take on days off. You are also welcome to stay onsite on days off.

    People can go walking locally in the woods and on the country roads. People can walk on the local mountains, the Comeraghs and the Knockmealdowns.

    Waterford Greenway is just over 20 miles from our house. Clonea Strand and Ardmore are 25 miles away. The Rock of Cashel is 25 miles away. Cahir Castle is 15 miles away.


    - this bus goes to clonmel from Dublin Airport or Dublin city. Get off the Showgrounds opposite the Army Barracks.

    - to get to Clonmel from Dublin Airport you need to get the Dublin to Cork bus. Get off in Cahir and get on the Limerick to Waterford bus and get off at Clonmel Train Station.

    If your Travelling from any other town or city, Bus Eireann is the company that will get you to Clonmel.

    You can get your travel insurance through the Workaway site.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Space to park up but currently no hook up option

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Dogs must be safe with small children and friendly with other dogs.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 575791224765

Feedback (1)


Help us tidy up the garden on the river bank in Innishannon, Ireland
Help our small family with gardening in the beautiful countryside of Galway in the west of Ireland