Forest garden project on the land of a National Geographic photographer based in Palmela, Portugal

Country

Portugal

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 400 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.08.2022

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Matthieu. I have been a freelance photographer for over 20 years, and an active National Geographic photographer for the last 10 years. My wife (she is German, we met in Indonesia) and I bought a beautiful land near Palmela, overlooking a valley called Vale dos Barris. During confinement, we improved the land with a connection to our 2 springs, permaculture vegetable garden, water tank made from an old wash basin etc. We have olive and pomegranate trees and a growing forest. We have planted several hundreds of trees so far, and plan to plant a lot more in coming months!

    Following a forest fire on July 13th 2022 that destroyed part of the land, we are rehabilitating the land and expanding our forest project after the fire cleaned new areas of our land!
    We are also renaturing the 2 streams that are on the edge of our land, to push back the invasive species known as "Giant Reed" (Arundo Donax or "canas" in Portuguese). It's an exciting process that will allow us to use the water edges, something we could bot do before. We plan on also adding small check dams to slow, sink and spread the water and bring back more endemic species.

    All this type of work is physical, as our land is terraced and lot of it is unaccessible by car. So you must be fit and especially not be afraid of sweating and carrying loads up and down.

    You would be hosted in our beautiful wood interior van that has electricity and a kitchen, right on top of the land. We provide all the food you want, but we ask that you cook for yourself. The unusual circumstance of the fire that destroys 2 of our brick houses and our outdoor kitchen, makes it more complicated to cook for people, at least for now.

    More about the PROJECT:
    We have been implementing a vast forest garden on the lower part of land that comprises of 14 terraces and a couple of pond system. We have planted around 80 fruits trees, and thousands of cuttings of endemic species, vines etc. we have a pond system as well.

    More about the FAMILY:
    We have 2 boys, Timo (11) and iluka (15). Both our kids are born on the road (one in Hong Kong, the other in Istanbul) and speak German, French, English and Portuguese. Our boys are home-schooled. We are a truly multicultural family, love sharing our travels (we have been to most countries in Asia) and we have been living since 3 years inside the Arrabida Nature Park, just 35mn south of Lisbon.

    Please write "pineapple" in your message when you contact us, so we know you have read our description (as we get lots of request). Thanks, love and light.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have travel the world for the last 20 years and look forward to hearing about your life, and introduce you to the local markets, area etc. We are passionate about good food, music and world culture.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    - wood work / carpentry
    - help work on design of pond and water system, digging terraces etc
    - Help with occasional cooking (we love cooking!), shopping etc
    - general housekeeping and basic building

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You either stay with us at our home or in our van (electricity, water, kitchen, all wood covered), near our house, about 12 minutes drive from our home.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are inside the Arrabida Nature Park, so it's a perfect place if you like nature.
    It's an exchange: we are excited to host you , and should you come with a respectful and positive attitude to help us and take part in the activities. We are looking forward to it! :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)












N° de référence hôte : 571756146944