Hang out with plants and doggo in beautiful SE Portland, Oregon, US



new host  

Enregistré comme favori 34 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    Hello!! My name is Monique, I go by Moe. I am looking for help taking care of the most precious being in my life, my dog Chaka.

    As an avid work-awayer before COVID, I would like to turn the tables and host someone in my lovely townhouse in inner SE Portland, OR. I am going to take my first trip since the pandemic to attend a wedding Peru and I am offering free accomodation in exchange for help with my doggo, Chaka and watering my garden plot down the street while I am gone.

    Chaka is a three year old cowboy corgi. That means he is mixed with corgi and Australian cattle dog (blue heeler). The guy is very extreme and is an excellent companion to explore the beautiful city of Portland with, I am just not comfortable taking him internationally.

    We live very close to natural spaces like oaks bottom, the spring water corridor and Sellwood riverfront beach. (Sellwood is also a dog park. We love it.)

    We are also very close to public transportation with a bus stop visible from our front window and the max line just a block away. The neighborhood of Brooklyn is very cute, beautiful yards and great local spots to check out within walking and biking distance. Can leave my bike for you or long board to use for exploring, and if you feel like bringing Chaka, he is trained and able to run along both the bike and the board.

    Chaka is high and low maintenance at the same time. He is fine just chilling, but does need time out of the house or he will get stir crazy. I mean it. He is a cuddle guy, and loves to be near people. He does like to bark at people out the window.
    Full transparency, he is pretty reactive and very strong. Will try to chase a squirrel and or skateboarder and will yank your arm off if you are not paying attention.

    The townhouse is shared with one person, Evan, who I actually met while doing a work exchange in New Orleans.
    Evan is probably the chilliest of the chill, and friendly as a dog. He is down to hang or not with you at your comfort level. He also just moved to Portland.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Explore the beautiful scape of Portland and the surrounding natural spaces OR has to offer.

  • Aide


    Chaka is fed twice a day.
    We do not have a yard, though we are close to many public outdoor spaces, so he has to be walked about 4/5 times a day. One of those walks will usually be a longer one to the park or beach so he can get some steps in.
    The garden needs to be watered at least every other day, possibly once a day depending on how hot it might get.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    A furnished bedroom with a shared bathroom.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is a lot of outdoor recreation here in Portland. Biking is huge part of the culture here and I can set you up with a bike and a guide to access the community. Bike parties all the time, though pedalpalooza will have just ended. You are welcome to join us before my departure.

    There are lots of places to rent paddle boards, kayaks, ECT. There is a lot of places to go swimming and fishing or hike and climb. So much nature to be explored and adored!!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 557241477521