Share in our daily life in the foothills of the Cascade Mountains, Peshastin, Washington State, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 820 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    83  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Time to update this profile, as we just sent our youngest off to college. We're not ready for an empty nest, though, and will definitely continue hosting, so read on, and if you think you'd be a good fit, let us know!

    We are a family of four -- now pretty much just two of us at home. We are musicians, teachers, and creative thinkers who work and play hard. We have a huge organic garden, lots of fruit trees, chickens, and a dog. Living in orchard country, we have a view of the Wenatchee River off our back deck and mountains all around, which offer a huge variety of outdoor recreation opportunities. One or both of us enjoys rafting, hiking, biking, camping, skiing, and show-shoeing. We also really like to play games (board, card, yard), and enjoy a good roasting-of-the-opponent while not caring who actually "wins."

    We love to travel as well as host travelers, getting to know others and learning from them while sharing our experiences and skills. As we like to say, "Everyone's different!" and it's fun seeing how that looks in relation to our family. We grow and preserve a lot of our food, have a good-sized greenhouse, and would like to learn more about permaculture. Experiments in homemade wine have had various results (from "pretty good" to "good for cooking and that's all"), while the homemade hard apple cider results are almost always "excellent!"

    We've hosted over 42 WAers since 2017, and look forward to more. Come share your perspectives with us as we enjoy good conversations and hearty laughs over healthy meals, building bridges as we get to know one another.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    With you joining our family for a time, we will build a relationship (depth up to you), share our culture and lifestyle with you, and hope you will share/teach us also. Bring a good attitude and be flexible!

    As for your experience outside of our home, you could learn about the history of our area (Geology, Native American and Pioneer history), or spend time outdoors (every season has much to offer) doing what you like. We would prefer you don't just sit on the couch staring at a screen all day while you're here. We live within walking distance to many outdoor activities (either right here or a bus ride or bike ride away). You can borrow a bike, and our local bus system is free.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Depending on your interests and abilities, you could share your skills in the yard, garden or greenhouse, around the house/kitchen or with bigger projects that occasionally come up. If you have a skill (I.e. massage, knitting, yoga, kombucha-making, dog-training, knowledge of permaculture, you-name-it), that could be part of what you share. We are open and flexible. We'd love to host someone who enjoys cooking healthy dinners and won't mind cleaning up the kitchen afterward.

    We are looking for WAers who are independent thinkers and can work alone or with us, but also willing to ask questions. We appreciate someone who wants to do a job well, whatever it is. Agility and some strength is generally required, as you may be climbing to the loft of the treehouse to sleep, cleaning out the chicken pen, hauling compost, or even chopping or stacking firewood.

    You should be comfortable being in a quiet house, as Steve works from home and I'm at school teaching 7-4 M-F. Hosting included a great deal of chatter and activity when we had kids at home, but I'm afraid it's going to be a lot quieter around here now.

    We are fully vaccinated for COVID. Please be able to show proof of your COVID vaccination if you want to come stay with us. We want all of us to remain healthy.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are teachers-- always happy to help you speak better English if you want!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    In the spirit of Workaway we offer room and board along with the opportunity for you to get to know us and how we live here in pear-country-by-the-river. You'll be welcomed into the family, and as part of the family we will expect some light help/cleaning up-- just general helpfulness and participation with "normal" things such as clearing the table, doing some dishes, etc.

    Depending on the season and who else is around, you might be sleeping inside in a bedroom or in the rustic treehouse, which has a nice deck with the best views of the river. We are allergic to smoke and hate the smell, so cannot accept smokers. No using drugs, marijuana, or vape-pens, either. If that's your style, please look elsewhere!

    You will have wifi while at our house.

    You can help yourself to three meals (healthy, some meat) each day and we always have snacks around. Most breakfasts and lunches will be "serve-yourself" from a selection of foods that we normally eat, but most dinners will be together with us. In your introduction please tell us your favorite food so we know you've read this. :)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The LINK bus stop (Route 22, get off at the Peshstin Library), Wenatchee Valley Shuttle (get off at Peshastin Park and Ride), Amtrak train (get off at Leavenworth Icicle Station) and bus stations (get off at Icicle Quick Stop in Leavenworth) are all nearby, and we are happy to pick you up from any of them.

    If you want to go beyond your volunteering at our house and share your skills in the community, we can help facilitate that, and we can also point you in the direction of some entertainment if you want to meet others socially. Depending on the current situation, COVID-19 state regulations might limit this somewhat. We do take state-recommended precautions at our house to stay healthy-- for all of our sakes!

    If you like the outdoors, this place will make you happy!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have high-speed internet and a quiet place you may work.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We might be able to host someone with his/her own camper. It depends upon the situation, but feel free to ask!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 25 hours

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)














































N° de référence hôte : 418298846163