Rejoignez-nous et partagez notre vie de famille, Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 170 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update: We are looking to host a volunteer for two weeks - from the end of December 2022 to the middle of January 2023.

    Please let us know your estimated arrival date and length of stay when sending your initial message.
    We also like to schedule a WhatsApp call (if dates work for both sides) with potential WorkAway volunteers. This is to help answer any questions you may have and to give a better idea of our family and the home environment.

    Hi there, we are a very busy (and sometimes a little loud) homeschooling family of 5, consisting of me (mama), my husband and our 3 children - 9, 7, and 1.5 year old. We live in the scenically beautiful Westshore area of Greater Victoria. Our family has traveled a great deal and we have always enjoyed meeting people from other countries, and hope others will also enjoy experiencing all that our part of Canada has to offer!

    One of our family’s interests is enjoying the nature that surrounds us as we live close to beaches, parks, forests, and trails.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We would like our volunteers to feel comfortable while staying with us, so please feel free to join in any of our family’s activities.

    Our home is a mix of Canadian and South-Asian roots, which allows for a unique cultural exchange. My husband and I are bilingual - both of us speak English and Urdu/Hindi.

    Victoria offers a variety of events which suit different tastes, so there is a little something for everyone. We have cultural celebrations, nature exploration, seasonal festivals, historic landmarks, farmers markets, volunteering opportunities, libraries, and recreation centers – just to name a few. There are local buses and ferries which allow you to explore the city or venture out and discover more of the West Coast region. If you enjoy nature there are many possibilities, some of which include hiking, kayaking, berry picking, and cycling. For those who like to keep busy in a city setting, we are about 25-35 minutes away from downtown Victoria, the capital of BC.

    Finally, if you are a Workawayer who is hoping to improve their English, I have years of teaching experience and could help with lessons or examination study (TOEFL, TOEIC, IELTS, SAT).

    If there is anything you would like to teach us such as a new language, recipes, art, handicrafts, sports, we always love learning!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for volunteers who are responsible, self-motivated, AND (most importantly) who also enjoy being part of a family ❤️.

    *Please note use of phones need to be limited during your volunteering hours. We try to be mindful of screen usage and appreciate volunteers not spending most of their time on social media in front of our children. This kind of volunteer will not be a suitable match for our family*

    As homeschoolers, we love when volunteers have introduced our children to their own personal hobbies and passions such as: watercolour painting, piano, yoga, baking, soccer, sketching, nature exploration, creating stories - the list goes on and on ☺️

    Below are the areas where we need the most help followed by some tasks that have been delegated to volunteers - not all tasks listed are done daily - some are seasonal and some depend on where and when we need a further set of hands.

    1. Activities with children: reading books, playing sports, baking, arts and crafts, piano practice, teaching yoga, playing board games, helping engage our toddler in play and activities

    2. Kitchen: snack preparation, cooking meals, helping keep kitchen tidy, organized and clean

    3. General household: cleaning, organization, general maintenance, construction (help with small home repairs)

    4. Gardening: weeding, raking leaves, watering grass, mowing the lawn, sweeping around the exterior of house

    We are flexible, but our ideal help schedule would be 25 hours per week. There will be a lot of free time for you!

    Lastly and most importantly, we are accommodating, honest, and considerate people - we expect the same from others in our home. If we feel the volunteer has no interest in the Workaway exchange, we will politely ask them to leave after giving them a warning. We have mostly had wonderful interactions with our volunteers and hope to continue these lovely exchanges.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hindi: Courant
    Urdu: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I have extensive experience teaching English and have also taught exam preparation courses for TOEFL, TOIEC, IELTS, and SAT. Teaching is my passion and if you would like to improve your English skills, we will surely accomplish a great deal! My children and I would like the opportunity to learn any of the following languages: Japanese, Arabic, Spanish, Dari/Farsi

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own medium size bedroom with a window that looks into our backyard . There is a detached full washroom with towels and most toiletries. Our rooms are upstairs, so you will have a reasonable amount of privacy BUT please know that since we are a family with young children there is a fair level of noise and energy in the home. There is a shared office on the ground floor which is only used occasionally during the day.

    You will have access to all food/ingredients in the kitchen, which is a shared space on the upper floor, so please feel free to make any snacks or meals you like.

    *IF you have dietary restrictions (eg. gluten free, vegan) OR have specific preferences for certain foods/drinks, we will only purchase items that the entire family also consumes. We prefer not to contribute to more worldwide food wastage.

    *Please note as we do not smoke, consume alcohol or eat pork, we kindly ask volunteers to respect our wishes and also not consume these items in the house*

    As we try to model and teach our children about cleanliness and being tidy, we hope that our guest will also keep their living area in a neat manner.

    We live in an uphill, quiet residential area with the closest bus stop less than 1km walk away. The bus comes every 30mins - however, many times we are able to drop volunteers to a main transportation (bus) location, which is about a 7min drive away.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Volunteers can also explore further away places in our region such as Tofino, Port Renfrew and the Gulf Islands. With the mildest climate in Canada, you will also see gardens bloom year-round in the Greater Victoria area. The city is tied closely to both land and sea and the rugged natural beauty of the Pacific Coast encourages all-season adventures in the great outdoors. Easy to explore by foot and at your own pace, a visit to Victoria can be as relaxing and rejuvenating as it is educational and exciting. Take advantage of the diverse historical, architectural and multicultural makeup that comes from being the oldest city in the Pacific Northwest. From First Nations history to British colonial and Asian traditions, and the landmarks, culture, cuisine, festivals and vibrant atmosphere that come with them, Victoria, B.C. is one of the world's favorite destinations. Volunteers may want to also visit the big city of Vancouver on a weekend too. As a traveler you will also cross paths with many tourists from other different cultures who visit this beautiful area of Canada.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a nice, quiet office that is next to your room. If you like working around others, we have a lovely, bright space in our living room and dining area too. Our internet connection is strong and throughout the house.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 25 hours a week, there will be a lot of free time for you!

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














N° de référence hôte : 549282562372